Challenging Myself in Scottish Meanderings

  • Oct. 31, 2015, 3:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took this photo by mistake when I was up in Inverness with Nikki & the girls recently. I was about to delete it when I realised, purely by chance, it was showing three generations of foot transport. Kinda like it.

This week I’ve been challenging myself somewhat.

To anyone else the challenges will seem bizarre and not challenges at all but for me they are an attempt to break through this fog of fatigue I’m constantly living in.

The first was an all day conference on Thursday which I survived but only just. Tonight I’m having Lily overnight for the first time since Lilah was born 6 months ago.

I can’t tell you how much it’s pained me not to be able to be a proper Granny to the girls for all of that time and help out more with them. I have babysat at their house once or twice in the evening and certainly helped out loads in the daytime during the week but I knew fine Nikki was completely exhausted having them 24/7 and has been desperate just to go to bed early one night and be able to sleep most of the night through.

So I bit the bullet and offered to have Lily tonight.

I would have had Lilah as well but I’m just not strong enough for that yet and anyway she’s going through a right ‘mummy’ phase at the moment - screams as soon as Nikki’s out of her sight so it’s probably better to wait until she’s past that.

When I drove out to pick up Lily this afternoon I was faced with the Cutest. Witches. Ever.

but even cute witches have to eat sometimes ......

She’s had a ball tonight. We had 2 lots of trick and treaters after tea and would have had more but they rang the doorbell after she was in bed so I ignored it. I think she possibly broke the record for ‘requests to Granny as sleep delaying tactics’ (Granny can I have a drink; Granny I’ve lost my pussycat; Granny I need the toilet; Granny what was that noise; Granny this light isn’t working; Granny where’s Willow etc. etc.) before she finally succumbed to sleep at half past 8. I’m hoping that’s going to mean I might get a bit of a long lie tomorrow instead of her usual 7 a.m. awakening!

At around 9 p.m. I became aware of the banging of the cat flap several times and thought ‘what on earth are these cats doing down there for Pete’s sake?’. Half an hour later I suddenly thought hang on Lily was sitting at that cat flap at teatime ......

Entering the sitting room I found 3 very panic stricken cats and one locked cat flap.

I think it’s safe to go to bed now.


Last updated March 28, 2018


Deleted user October 31, 2015

So what was the cat flap noise?

Marg Deleted user ⋅ November 01, 2015

The cats headbanging the cat flap desperately trying to get outside!😄

Deleted user Marg ⋅ November 01, 2015

oooooh lol

patrisha October 31, 2015

Those poor cats! LOL it is a good job you checked otherwise you would have some really annoyed cats!

The girls are beautiful!

Marg patrisha ⋅ November 01, 2015

.... and a very scratched sitting room door (the 3 of them get shut in downstairs at night otherwise I would get Willow and Snarf asking for breakfast at 4 a.m.! Instead they hunt during the night and snack on the proceeds😊)

blackpropaganda November 01, 2015

Hope you got a good sleep!
The previous owners of our house had put a similar carpet in the hall, on the stairs and in the lounge - it would last for 50 years! - and it was only three years old. Still in hall and on the stairs but we had to remove it from the main room for the sake of our eyes - now nice wooden floor

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ November 01, 2015

See above note😄. The patterns of the seventies have a lot to answer for ......

Deleted user November 01, 2015

Gorgeous girls.

Marg Deleted user ⋅ November 03, 2015

Thank you!

Ceylon Sapphire November 02, 2015

Oh my goodness does your family produce beautiful children..... wow. Nikki is a star as a single mother....an absolute star. Its really good to see you writing here again and thank you so much for all the notes.... just as well I haven't been writing for too long here eh? :)

Marg Ceylon Sapphire ⋅ November 03, 2015

Well I decided to try and work through as much of folks' diaries as I possibly could because there was so much I'd missed so if anyone had a couple of pages of entries in their main book I would just go through it all. It's taking yonks but I think I've got through about a dozen so far so that would make - oh about 60 or so folk still to go ......... perhaps this will make me cull my Friends list at last!

Ceylon Sapphire Marg ⋅ November 03, 2015

60 friends? Gosh, that makes me a Scotty no friends... I have about 10 I think

Marg Ceylon Sapphire ⋅ November 03, 2015

Ah well that was in the Open Diary days right enough - not everyone got into the Lifeboat I don't think so it's possibly less over here but not much!

And better to have 10 friends you keep up with than 60 you keep ignoring!

NorthernSeeker November 02, 2015

Oh, you're not kidding...those little witches are beautiful. Lilah looks so much like her mom, too. I'm glad you had a good evening with Lily and the trick or treaters.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ November 03, 2015

Do you think so? I can't see her like either of them myself. Lily is very like her dad in the face.

edna million December 04, 2015

Oh, the little witches are beyond adorable!! I bet Lily loved getting to spend some time with you by herself. I can imagine how draining it is when you're already not well, though - kids are exhausting even when you're full of energy yourself! Good you could just take her alone. I love the Three Generations Of Transport picture.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.