October 23rd through 28th in 2015

  • Oct. 28, 2015, 12:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The remainder of Friday passed without any memories having formed. Yet again, due to Ebihara’s absence this time, I had no classes. She was still out with Pirate-itis. The eye infection that forces her to wear an adorable eyepatch. Well, that gave me a lot of time to kill to the extent that, after having started serious work on a complete history of Dunwall, I set about downloading, and playing, the free levels of Angry Birds in Space. Something I had previously deleted. Well, I’ve got tons of data to use on my phone, and, frankly, I was getting bored. I should be studying Japanese, something I intend to remedy. Just like I intended last week. Ah, I do remember a bit of Friday! On Friday night I learned that ATMs here close, evidently, at some time before 7:38 on Fridays. Damn them. Also, as it turns out, they do not open at 8 on Saturday mornings. I did get gas Friday night, which took up pretty much all of my money.
So, Saturday Morning I woke up and didn’t move very well. I’d been talking on skype far too much. I forget to whom I was speaking. I think maybe Audrey? I know I talked to her at some point recently (giri). It also could have been Tris as he’s the person I talk to the most. Well, mum had kindly put $100 into my BOE account, which I promptly withdrew from 7-11. I drove to Satsumasendai and then took the Shinkansen to Kagoshima. Finding the location of the Anglo Satsuma Friendship Festival was pretty difficult. Nobody seemed to know where it was based on the tiny picture of a map I had from the Facebook page. Then, all of a sudden, somebody did. It turns out it was within easy walking distance of the station. Well, thankfully for me I’d gotten the start time wrong and was only twelve minutes late rather than an hour and twelve. I stayed for the introduction that included people in adorable period clothes (or decent costume reconstructions). I then stayed for the bagpipes and the ladies taiko group (they were amazing!). Then, I ran over to the school where Miyanojo was having their debate.
When last I’d asked Matsumoto Sensei, she wasn’t sure of when the debate would happen. When I arrived in Kagoshima, I realized I didn’t have her phone number. I attempted to message her on Facebook, but she didn’t reply. I then texted Ebihara Sensei for Matsumoto Sensei’s number. She didn’t reply until after I’d already watched the first debate. It turns out I could have just messaged Hirayama Sensei as he was there to cheer on his son (though he did fall asleep briefly). I, thankfully, and luckily, arrived just as the team before Miyanojo was about to start, watched that debate, then was there to watch Miyanojo. The kids kind of collapsed under pressure. Which was sad. They weren’t terribly well prepared to begin with, they’re farmer’s kids off in the countryside competing against the whole prefecture, but they held their own relatively respectably. For whatever reason, it doesn’t bother me when Japanese kids cry. I mean, it doesn’t annoy me. I feel empathy. It makes me want to help them. In general, the moment somebody starts crying I emotionally check out. Anyway, there were quite a few tears shed by losers and chokers (including one girl from Miyanojo after it was revealed we wouldn’t advance).
The first round I’m pretty sure we lost outright. The first speaker, Hirayama Sensei’s son, was quite good. Then it kind of fell apart. The cross exam boy just crashed and burned. Our rebuttal was no great shakes either. After that, I rushed back to the festival, enjoyed myself some more, and then rushed back to the debate. Round two we probably tied. Strong first for both teams. Weak cross exam from both teams, moderate rebuttal from both teams. Still, impressive for having been in English the whole time. Then, I rushed back to the festival.
While there, I bumped into a lady who I’d met at last week’s random temple festival. She was super surprised to see me and even more surprised that I remembered her (not her name, though). She introduced me to the band that I’d just been listening to (or rather, its mandolin player). I was amazed to hear, in Japan, a pretty darned good Celtic music ensemble. Seriously. They were really good. They could have held their own anywhere in Michigan at least. Well, I explored more of the festival as the kids’ wind ensemble took over with their big band numbers (which were really good). Two of them I had played in marching band. Sing Sing Sing, and I forget the name of the other. They also did a good rendition of In the Mood, which I’d done in Jazz band. They did it better, of course.
It was at this time that I went across the river and discovered that that’s where the interesting stuff was. I was annoyed that I’d missed most of it. It was almost enough to tempt me to go back the next day (Sunday the 25th) but that was not going to happen. There were men walking around in Meiji officers’ uniforms, there were ladies in Victorian clothes, there were some more ladies in beautiful kimono, rickshaw drivers . . . also so much food. I amazed everybody by eating a snow cone. Everybody thinks it’s cold here. They don’t know the meaning of the world cold. Well, I piddled around doing things until everybody left. Seeing so many pretty girls reminded me of my own grotesque weight. Not a fun thing to be reminded of. Finally, having been dragged into eating, I was invited to talk to a pair of old couples (and their adorable dog). We chatted in (mostly) Japanese for ages. I was, once again, invited to stay in Japan and to marry a Japanese wife. I told them that this would make my mother very happy. This made them happy. Well, it’s still unlikely, but it’s possible.
Finally, it was getting late. I went back to the station, and the mall that’s around it. Aside from the music store, I found nothing of real interest or value. They did have a nice selection of Ukulele’s, but nothing that was what I needed or wanted. Nothing to compare to that 40K Yen one that I really want (but only saw in a catalogue). As I get more musicians I’m friendly with, I’m realizing more and more that I’ve got to do more ukulele and I’ve got to get a better one. Anyway, I finally went on the giant Ferris Wheel that’s standing above the station. I am scared of heights, but, seeing as I need to get over that kind of thing, I figured it was a good plan. Ordinarily I like Ferris Wheels. However, ordinarily they’re a lot smaller. This one is on top of a building taller than most Wheels I’ve been on before. Then it was bigger than any I remember having been on before. Also I was in an entirely Plexiglas gondola (at my own request). I did very well in it, though, and I’m glad I did it. In the end, though, it was disappointing. I went too late at night. In an open gondola (which they don’t have) it would have been a lot nicer because I could have seen anything. The city at night must be beautiful, but the scuffed Plexiglas didn’t really do justice to the view. I’m sure in the daytime, with lovely views of Sakurajima, it must be nice. I’ll have to go on it again.
I returned by Shinkansen to Sendai, then drove back, dicked around, and went to bed.
Sunday was such an utter waste of suck as to be barely worth the description I’ve just given to it. I did and accomplished essentially nothing. I’ve got to stop having these days. It wouldn’t have been bad if I hadn’t had things that needed to be accomplished. I didn’t even manage to get to bed as early as I’d hoped. After having (secretly) taken a double dose of sleeping meds). I ate way too much for dinner, and I don’t think I broke 2K steps the whole day (minimum goal is 10K). Yeah. Total waste of day.
I got up this morning at 5:30, as was the plan, then went back to sleep until 6:30, which was not the plan. Then, off to the BOE. I teach in Tomarino today, so that’ll be a lovely half hour drive through beautiful, near car crash inducing, scenery. Then a nice class with the last remnants of that school. Today, I NEED to go on an evening walk. I also NEED to get some cleaning done before it’s bad. Tomorrow is burnable garbage, and Wednesday is recyclables, so I can finally get rid of a lot of the big stuff that’s been taking up space (packaging from my two new bookshelves). Doing this means that I’ll be able to rearrange space a lot better.
Simply put, I’ve got to get back on track with weight loss. I totally blew it when sick, as is my custom, and I’ve got to get back into this. Nothing fits, and I feel ashamed constantly. Making matters worse, my bland, healthy, cereal is no longer carried at the only grocery store in town. 7-11 doesn’t have it either. I should check Family Mart, but I’m doubtful. The new one is at least 50% more calories. I think maybe I’ll cut out the cereal altogether and just do the fruit and yogurt. Well, I bought two bags of the stuff. Let’s see. If I’m walking 10K a day, it’s not as much of an issue. Let’s hope this all works out.
I also realize that I’ve got to do some of the exercises from that book I was reading. I just can’t do it in the amount that the guy is suggesting. I’m supposed to start at 7.5 minutes per exercise. Well, that’s not going to happen. I suppose that two is a good start, or something like it. I’ve got to do some strength stuff (amazed at how weak I’ve become), and if I can’t do it full on, I’m going to do a bit. Little by little, that’s the way to do it. Just gotta hang in there. Just gotta keep making it work. Somehow or other.
Monday I did, in fact, end up going on an evening walk, and it was relatively enjoyable. Beyond that, not much stands out from the day. I played some Civ III at home, which wrecked the ol’ sleep plans. Of course. I also started reading The Tale of Genji, and I mean to finish it this time.
Tuesday I woke up exhausted and went to my physical. We’ll wait and see what the results are, but I just had one a few weeks ago and I don’t anticipate any great differences. I’ve got a bit of a worry over events from Klever’s party, but I think I’m in the clear. Anyway, it was nice to have gone into the physical having determined to diet. I was, naturally, informed by the doctor that I’d damned well better. Though, of course, he was adorable and sweet and Japanese about it. People here like to grab at my stomach like I’m a panda or something. It happens more than you’d think. Well, when I arrived, Ebihara had nothing for me to do. She utilizes me the least, and the least usefully, and she’s behind schedule from being sick. So, I had nothing to do. I didn’t even have notebooks to check, just a few odd papers. So, most of what I did was to make a list of the events that happened in the fictional world Tris and I are building. I did that for most of the day.
I went home feeling so exhausted from having done nothing all day that I just kind of vegged out. I didn’t walk. I barely did anything. I had to drag myself to get dinner, and I was starving. I just couldn’t stand the thought of doing anything. I played some more Civ III, and I went to bed a bit too late (though not too too late) and read a bit more Genji. I knew, even then, I should have just started with Genji, but I also knew I’d be sleepy if I started it too soon, and I didn’t want to fall asleep at 7 and be stuck waking up at three.
This morning I got up got the garbage out. I think I doubled my livable square footage. This twice monthly garbage pickup for non burnable sucks. I talked to Jordan while doing a lot of my morning stuff, which was pretty fun. I feel bad. I like talking to her, and it’s fun occasionally, but she NEEDS to get over me, and that’s just not happening. Apparently it had just about happened, and then I messaged her again. Dammit. Dammit dammit dammit.
Today I got to do a pickup class for Matsumoto Sensei. I wasn’t scheduled, but she took me in as an ALT, and that was fun. I also had two classes worth of notebooks to check (five pages each) plus a little random stuff, which has made today go a lot better. It’s a bit after two, and I feel a lot more alive than I felt at any point in time yesterday.
The diet is going relatively well. Then again, it’s Wednesday. I didn’t realize just how caloric the school lunches were. 700-800 is par for the course. When you’re trying to net 1.5K, that’s pretty rough. They do keep these kids active, though. That’s really the trick. I’m making it a point of getting up and walking around the school ever so often just to keep myself moving.
I don’t think I can/should do 10K a day. It’s too much walking too soon. I was in pain, and my sleep is just not strong enough to justify getting up at 5:30. I think that’s probably what got me sick. Too much stress on my body. I now have a new plan: two weeks of 5K walks at night, then we’ll start adding distance, then shortening time. Right now, the goal is to walk 5K in 50 minutes. Well, after two weeks, I’ll go up to six K and I’ll try to do that in an hour. Then I’ll go to five K in 45 minutes. Maybe I’ll add some other stuff then, too. The problem is, a lot of exercises are, frankly, very difficult or dangerous at my current weight. Especially with delicate legs. When I’m down to 180, the stuff in that Bodyweight Training Bible will be great. But it’s too much now. Also, I’ve got to set up very doable baselines before I expand. So, for two weeks, it’s 5K at night. Beyond that . . . after that . . . I don’t know. I just wrote about my tentative idea, but we’ll see what happens.
I’m also back on Myfitnesspal. Courtney’s on it again, which is nice. Just need to get Kat back on it and we’ll have the gang reunited. One of these days the three of us need to hang out in one place at one time. I feel like we should have done this about a decade ago. Oh well. Nothing to be done about it now.
Well, tonight I’ve got walking, then Eikaiwa, then I’ve got to write a sample JET lesson plan. Maybe I’ll read two or three chapters of Genji before bed. I’ve got to work on cramming more into a day, but it’s hard when so much of me wants to do nothing, or, to listen to ASMR videos half asleep. Man I do love doing that.
Moving backward, it appears that I neglected to mention teaching at Tomarino. Well, in the first place, I was sure I’d taught there before. It turns out that I hadn’t, so I feel like a dick for not having brought presents. I’ll have to do that next time. I had a single class there, there are only a few, and it was a tiny and adorable mixed group of students. Not enough for a whole grade. I freaking love these tiny, dying, schools. I love how the teachers are like mother ducks, especially the men. I love how everybody is so close, it’s like a family. Family. Belonging. Being a part of something. My goodness, that’s something these kids have! I wish I’d ever known anything like it. Maybe more of it was my fault than I’m willing to admit. I certainly, looking back, wasn’t the easiest kid to get along with or to accept, but when I see how happy and just . . . natural these kids are . . . it just seems too good to be true. Pontius says that it takes three months to start seeing the lonely isolating horror. Well, I’m about a week out of my three month mark and I feel like I’m just hitting the honeymoon phase I was supposed to hit back in August.
Well, not much to say, I guess. Mostly just need to write this all down before I forget and post it before I forget. I need to look into how you download diaries from Prosebox as I need to have a backup. I also need to find a time when Courtney isn’t busy and pay her to upload my old OD entries. Gotta get on that. Tristan’s got ‘em. And he’s only, like, thirty seconds from her house. And he’s barely even a dude, so maybe her husband won’t get all pissy.
Anyway, it looks like I won’t be going home for Christmas. Yet another reason to hope Dad lives another year. Chris isn’t sure if he’s going to be going home for Christmas. His girlfriend Jill’s mom died last year on Christmas morning. Just collapsed. Dead. So, he’s playing Christmas by ear with her. Maybe she’ll want to be with her family, maybe far away, but they’re going to need time to figure stuff out, and, by the time the decide, a plane ticket will probably be a year’s salary as opposed to a month. I’m thinking about what to do during my time off (a week off in Miyanojo is just not going to happen).
I wonder if people start families because they pretty much have to? I mean, in college, on a break, you had your friends to hang out with. Now? Everybody’s got families. It’s how they avoid loneliness and boredom. What if you’re bored and lonely and single and want to stay single? Maybe the only way to avoid it is by sticking to one person and producing a few more. Man I hope not. Again, I wish it were more acceptable for me to have friends in their early 20’s because that’s a lot more where I feel. Yet again, wish I’d come to Japan at 22 rather than 29.
Anyway, this is getting long, and I’ll wrap it up. There’s not much to say, and I want to walk around the school again. I’d like to get 10K steps in before I go on my walk. Then maybe I can actually have dinner (breakfast+lunch gave me 300 calories to work with, so I’ve got to burn off a lot).
Write again soon.
Oh, and, as a side note, before I forget:
Miyanojo is the old name of the town where I live. It was one of the towns that merged into Satsuma. But nobody who lives in Satsuma says they’re from Satsuma (unless they’re from Satsuma). Most of us are from Miyanojo or Tsuruda. Hence the confusion.


Amaryllis October 28, 2015

Wait, I have to TYPE? That is not happening. I thought it was copy-paste clean up. Don't you have a digital file?

Xanatos Amaryllis ⋅ October 28, 2015

I totally have it. But it's all the HTML formatted crap from the direct download. You just have to copy paste and there may be a bit of cleaning.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.