Entry 1 of 2 in Book Two: The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era

  • Oct. 27, 2015, 8:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Driving back from the interview alone was 245 miles. I’m pooped! Ultimately, I drove a total of 357+ miles today. And interviewed for a job. Ultimately, the job I interviewed for was Washington County Assistant Attorney to Criminal Prosecution for half time; and Keokuk Assistant County Attorney being groomed to replace the County Attorney in three years. The County Attorney looking to groom his replacement was specific about two things… he wanted someone young in order to understand and work the computers (that he couldn’t figure out) but someone with considerable experience. I found this on Facebook and it summarizes his expectations nicely:
alt text

But that’s okay. As much as I’d like ANY job and as nice as it would be to get THIS job… I still have an interview on Monday for something that is in the perfect place with great people. Honestly, I would much rather get the job I’m interviewing for on Monday but… to be fair… I could get this job I just interviewed for and/or I could wind up with an offer from neither. We will just have to see. On my way out of the interview, though, I did pose (what could be interpreted as) a weird question. I asked, “Since I am passionate about getting a job in this market; whether I get an offer on this job or not, what would you suggest I do better or prepare better for my next interview?”
Both people interviewing me said… nothing. I nailed the interview portion with poise and confidence, an understanding of what I can bring and what my weaknesses are… the biggest thing that would prevent me from getting a job? EXPERIENCE
alt text

So… here’s hoping the Monday interview goes amazingly! Because… advocating for people that I am passionate about? Hopefully… my specialization and experience can help. Cuz.... seriously? I keep running the experience-job circle and I’ll go crazy, lol.

Song that seems to be a theme of mine lately and a hysterical version of a song because I love this video!!


Fantasy October 27, 2015

I hope you get one of them! (Crossing fingers)

stargazing October 27, 2015

Good luck! Still sending positive vibes. I hate when you can't find a job b/c you don't have experience, and you can't get the experience b/c they won't give you a job. Gah!

Deleted user October 28, 2015

WOOOOW. Yeah, that skeleton meme sums it riiiight the hell up. I feel this on a spiritual level.

Rhapsody in Purple October 28, 2015

Hope you get a job offer very very soon. Sounds like you have great interviewing skills.
Last time i was looking for work, they used to tell me the same thing. They would love me but they'd end up choosing someone with more experience. Its a sucky cycle to be in.
Loved Alanis' version of My Humps.

Always Laughing October 30, 2015

good luck

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.