"Live Tweeting" In a Sense in Book Two: The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era

Revised: 10/24/2015 9:33 a.m.

  • Oct. 23, 2015, midnight
  • |
  • Public

So… I’m an idiot, lol. Got all dressed up, went in to work early, stressing about getting the inmates through today after court… stood in court for an hour and then went back to the office to input before going to the Law Library for the last two required mods.... and realize- I wasn’t scheduled for court this morning!! GAH! I mean.... yeah, 3 more hours of pay but… I could have called the final two mods in at 9, been done with them by noon, and have had enough of the day left to finally get my oil changed, call my brother as he turns 35 today and call my parents about accommodations for my upcoming interviews.

1205
As it is… I did the court shift, input everything and came to the Law Library around lunch time for the inmates. So I certainly can’t call them down during that. So I wait. And now I’m trying to call the last two mods… the final people before I can finally GTFO for the weekend… and both mods can not be contacted right now. I should explain… I have to call the Mod LT to bring me the individuals that wish to use the Law Library. BOTH of the MODS I need.... the phone is busy. Has been for 10 minutes. If this doesn’t get resolved by 1230; then I will be working for free (which… obviously won’t happen… I’ll add those hours for next week’s calculations). But as it is now- I’ll be getting paid for 47.5 hours for the week. For a part time job. And 27.5 of those hours were just Law Library.

1215
Just physically walked down to the mods to see if maybe the phones were being worked on (after all, this week alone Engineers have been called three times a day for faulty gear). What I saw led to an assumption that may derive from latent unknown racist leanings… or it may be an acceptable assumption considering the circumstances. Walked to C Mod. Black Female Corrections Officer on the phone; she’s laughing and chatting (clearly a personal call). Walked to E Mod. Black Female Corrections Officer on the phone; she’s laughing and chatting (clearly a personal call). Here’s the assumption I’m making: They are talking to each other. They are the only phones presently “busy” for more than 10 minutes in this entire building (yay technology for giving me that information). And it wouldn’t be a problem at all… except I need E Mod and C Mod right now!

1230
My theory gained some moderate strength as, when I was finally able to contact E, I was also able to contact C. Oh well… can’t say as I blame the women.

1345
Only one major issue today that spiraled a little out of control. Pro Se inmate needed copies made. Okay. (1) How do I verify Pro Se status, because only Pro Se can get copies made? (2) There is no copy machine in this library, where and when do I get the copies made? (3) Inmates must pay for copy service, how do I log the transaction?
I texted Work Crush, my temporary partner and one of the people I replaced. Got answers but they conflicted. BUT at least we know they conflicted. It allows us the opportunity to work it out. Boy there is a lot about this job that I don’t know about… which is going to be an issue since I will have to teach whoever they hire (IF they hire) to do this job. Speaking of, though.... my boss said I could apply for the Assistant Position coming up soon. 36k and benefits to do what I’m doing now plus about 10-20 hours more of work. In my head I’m thinking alt text
Because… seriously? 36k? I’m a licensed attorney, it is an Assistant position and the position would basically be me doing what I already do and more. OF COURSE, though, since I’m not a complete idiot… I did think/am thinking.... y’know, any port in a storm. If I can’t get work as a lawyer, I may as well give this opportunity some serious consideration. So we will have to see how my next two interviews go!

1644
When I got home from work, I sat down on the couch and… found myself being angrily woken up by my wife. Again… not angry that I was asleep. Angry that I was snoring. Either she is going to need to build a bridge and get over it; or we need to invest some serious $$$ to stop my snoring. Because her actions regarding my snoring are getting downright ridiculous. Why do I say that here? Because… all she’s done since I’ve come home is watch Project Runway on her tablet. So… it is a portable device… and it would be easy to use headphones.


Last updated October 24, 2015


Waiting For Sunrise October 24, 2015

I'm not convinced that your snoring is quite as big a problem as your wife is making out.... Perhaps she is using it as a new outlet for her anger, because you can't hear it for yourself so you can't argue with her?

Always Laughing October 30, 2015

Why can't she just let you sleep and move away if she is on her tablet. That is crappy to do.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.