Day 11 (Oct 12th): Saint Germain en Laye in Paris and Normandy travel log

  • Oct. 17, 2015, 1:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today would be the departure day of our trip. We woke up at 3:30am to get our luggage ready for a 4:30am pickup. After which we spent time in the ship’s lounge area to wait for a taxi that would take us to Charles de Gaulle at 5 for an 8:30 flight.

But the cruise company messed up and missed our taxi, so we ended up taking another taxi with a different couple who were to catch a plane half an hour later than ours (they were going to Newark). So we got to spend more time in the lounge than anticipated.

The airport was more busy than I’d expected at 6am. La Professeure was fighting her cold, so wanted to rest the whole time, I wanted more sleep, so I wanted to rest the whole time too. So we just lazed around the airport lounge (lounging was a theme of the day) till we boarded; we didn’t even get breakfast at the airport. At least the airline gave us food. I watched 3 movies non-stop on the way back and that helped the time pass (my favourite was a computer animation telling of Le Petite Prince; it was cute).

We landed in JFK around 10:30 and took public transportation back (AirTrain + Long Island Railroad + taxi). By the time we got home it was around 1. I tried to stay awake till bed time but failed… ended up sleeping for 3 hours around 6pm. However, that didn’t seem to affect my clock.

I did, however, catch a cold on the plane though, so this first few days back at work has not been productive.

In any case, I enjoyed the trip, but felt it was a bit short. Our honey moon was more enjoyable.


Last updated October 23, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.