Daily Entries, lets get back to how it was on OD in 2015

  • Oct. 16, 2015, 8:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve decided to try and start doing daily entries, or at least every second day. Guys, this used to be my THERAPY. And I’m sure its the same for a lot of you. We started these “diaries” 100 years ago knowing that by venting out our frustrations or telling the anonymous world our feelings, that it would heal us and help us get through things!

When did that stop? I used to write solely for ME. I started at OD back when I was a teenager living in the city. I would write my innermost thoughts and feelings. I didn’t care who thought what about it. It was for me. I need that in my life again. So from now on you guys are getting the innermost, deepest, REAL shit from me. And its going to be a helluva lot more frequent than it has been for the last year.

I miss the old days, and I want them back.


Ok, yesterday. Had coffee with my Sensei. I told him everything that has been going on in my life. We are really close like that but through both of our very busy summers, we lost touch. I wanted him to know why I haven’t been at Karate. The reason being I was focused on Miley. Shes a bit better-ish now, so last night I went.

It felt great. It was quite the work out, but now I remember why I was going in the first place. I’m good. I get things easily, I understand the movements, the blocks, punches, kicks, kata. I get it all and it comes so naturally to me so its very rewarding. I enjoy that because on a day to day basis, I don’t get rewards lol. I cook and clean and child rear and keep a house and I feel like, I need something thats going to PUSH ME and make me better and moving through the ranks at karate is something that does this. Yes I get rewarded with my photography too. I love seeing my clients happy with their photos. We all need to do something in our lives, that helps us feel great about ourselves.

Chris and I are still good. There was a bit there at the start of summer that wasn’t so good… once the drag races came into play. But we’ve since worked it all through and are MUCH better at communicating than we used to be.

Example: Miley goes to bed 30-40 mins after Evelyn. Chris was mad last night because the night before, Miley didn’t behave so he determined that she was to go to bed at the same time as Evelyn, as a punishment. He said he has put his foot down. And I respected his decision as a parent. However- thats not why she goes to bed later. So I took him aside and talked with him. I told him, not within Miley’s earshot, that I didn’t agree with his decision because the main reason why she goes to bed later, is so that Evelyn has a fighting chance at getting to sleep before Miley starts her drama.

We both agreed that even though we told Miley it was bedtime, that she was able to stay up for another 20 mins. Granted shes quiet and just reading books on the couch. Normally I would have just snapped on him for trying to make decisions. This is something I’m bad with. I admit. I definitely do jump on him when he tries to parent. I mean, yes, I’m basically the sole caregiver and I do feel like I should be the one making most of the rules/decisions, but I need to learn how to respect his parenting as well. Which I have been learning to do. BUT-he has to learn how to take me aside and ask things before trying to change the way I do things around here, since most of the time, he isn’t here.

Kristen <3


Hotaru October 16, 2015

I miss writing more frequently too. Life just gets so busy.

goddess October 16, 2015

I miss writing in here all the time, too. I mean, I was never all that good at keeping up even on OD, but when I went there to write it felt therapeutic. I feel like the last year or so I only write in here to keep people posted on things, but it's been a while since I've written anything really deep or unfiltered or whatever. I'm not sure why it's different here.

Really glad to hear you and Chris are doing better! Those little communication things are so important, like taking him aside and having a calm discussion instead of snapping at him. I hope it continues getting better, I know you've had some rough times with him.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon goddess ⋅ October 16, 2015

Thanks and yes we've gone thru a lot. I'm seriously going to write a heck of a lot more. You should too. Totally therapeutic! And exactly, it feels as tho this has become a place where people just every once and while tell others how they're doing... We need to get back to the real reason why we started.

Pockets October 16, 2015

i'm so glad you're writing again dude.
and hurrah for parental communication that doesn't result in the angries.
sometimes its hard as hell.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Pockets ⋅ October 16, 2015

So fuckin hard!

JustSurviveSomehow October 18, 2015

I agree. I wrote a few entries since we all came here, but then I deleted them all for reasons I don't know even know. It just doesn't feel the same way. I really want that back too. Thanks for the inspiration!

Mrs.Kristen.Canon JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ October 18, 2015

I hoping to inspire a few of the OD Originals!!! Lets make this place feel like home <3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.