MorMorMorMorMorMorMorMons in Book Two: The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era

  • Oct. 6, 2015, 3:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A few weeks ago, some of you may remember, I had a run-in with a fellow former law student. I was in the Jail Courtroom (as I often am for my job) and in walked a colleague. An individual that had graduated from law school at the same time as I did, who passed the Bar Exam at the same time as I did. However, he was the son of one of the Law School’s Deans. One of the three Mormon Deans… at a Jesuit Catholic Law School. That will always be strange to me. That three of the most powerful Deans within the law school are Mormon… despite the school being Jesuit Catholic. Of course what is downright aggravating to me is the favoritism these Deans show to students of the same faith but that isn’t what this is about and if I focus on that… all I’ll be writing about is Religious Favoritism and Exclusion.

ANYWAY… so… son of one of the Mormon Deans, graduated same time, bar exam same time… he walks in with a job at the County Attorney’s Office. The position (if not State) that I want to make a career out of. TODAY… I had a run-in with another former law student. I was in the Jail Courtroom (because, if I’m at work it is either Jail Courtroom or Office) and in walked a colleague. An individual that had graduated from law school at the same time as I did, who passed the Bar Exam at the same time as I did. However, she is the daughter of one of the Law School’s Deans. One of the three Mormon Deans. And she just began her new job at the County Attorney’s Office. They weren’t even hiring(!!) but somehow… she gets this job?!

So. Very. Frustrating.

I’ve busted my ass… I have (as of last night) sent out 40 resumes/applications/Government Employment Request Forms. Despite my dream being to be a career Assistant County Attorney; I have applied for Clerkships, Ambulance Chasing, Compliance Officers, Disability Attorneys, Public Defenders, County Attorneys, City Attorneys, Corporate Attorneys, Child Protective Services, etc! I have been out of law school for 16 months. I have been a licensed attorney for 5 months. I realize how important who you know is… but the kind of outright nepotism stemming from the same people that actively withheld educational opportunities to me because I wasn’t a Mormon?! If I weren’t so thoroughly obsessed with control… it would be enough to send me into my Wife’s kind of outrage.


Always Laughing October 06, 2015

life sucks

Park Row Fallout Always Laughing ⋅ October 07, 2015

It really powerfully feels like that, I'll admit. Though... stuff like this? Days like this? Are why I so desperately want to get back to either Central Iowa or Eastern Iowa. Bad days are easier with friends and family around. And... I'm not so green in life that I believe a good job will remove bad days. But... yeah. Both my wife and I are so isolated out here and neither of our job-lives are fulfilling. It can really take its toll.

Always Laughing Park Row Fallout ⋅ October 07, 2015

I know how you feel about having friends and family to make it suck less. If I was alone here dealing with life I would be far worse off.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.