Trying it out. in Hello.

  • Oct. 1, 2015, 9:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m loving my new hair. It is SO easy to look after! Takes me a fraction of the time in the shower, I wash my hair first and it’s is almost dry by the time I get out.
Everyone has told me how much I suit it short and my skin is thanking me too…I haven’t had a single spot since I’ve got rid of the hair touching my face.
The only thing I need to do is use hairspray on it. I literally look like a shaving brush unless I stick it down in the morning!

I’m experimenting with my new no shampoo regime. Strictly speaking, I’m still using product on it (the hairspray), so I can’t say for certain if that maybe has something in it that might be cleaning my hair when I wash it. I’m hoping that in a month or so, my hair will be long enough that I won’t need the spray any more. But if I can carry on with no shampoo, that would be great. I really hope it works!

The basic premise behind it is that shampoo washes the natural oils out of your hair, leaving it dry and brittle, so your scalp over compensates by producing too much oil and you’re back to square one again. Washing the hair with the baking soda and rinsing with the apple cider vinegar cleans the hair, but doesn’t strip it of the natural oils. You then use a bamboo brush or a natural bristle brush to distribute the natural oils through the hair. In theory, your hair doesn’t dry out and grows stronger and thicker.
That’s the theory anyway. I’m still a bit sceptical, but I’ve got nothing to lose by trying it!
The ratio is a teaspoon of baking soda in 100ml of water, and the same for the vinegar. I make it in little squirty bottles that I keep in the drawer in the bathroom. I wet my hair, then squirt it with the baking soda solution. You’re then supposed to massage your scalp thoroughly to encourage the natural oils through it, then I squirt it with the vinegar and rinse. My hair feels squeaky clean afterwards and it smells of vinegar only until it dries, then you can’t smell a thing. I was really paranoid about my hair smelling funny, but John has assured me it just smells of hair. And I have to say, my hair does feel nice. Once I’ve stopped with the hairspray, I’m going to try spacing the washes further and further apart to see what works best.

Because I was paranoid about my hair smelling funny, I bought three bottles of essential oil, lavender, sandalwood and rosemary. In another squirty bottle, I made a 50/50 mixture of water and witch hazel and added 5 drops of each perfume oil. It smells lovely and light and I’ve been spraying it all over myself after my shower. And because it’s all natural, even on my face, in the hope it will stop my spots from ever coming back.

So all in all, I’ve spent about £3 on stuff for my hair (BS, ACV and squirty bottles) and it’s going to last me months. I’ve seen other people’s hair once they’ve gone shampoo free and it looks great. Before my buzz, I was washing my hair every other day. So far I’ve gone almost a fortnight with no shampoo and it feels lovely! :) Plus it appears to be growing back fairly fast. I got the sides of my head buzzed around my ears 10 days ago, and it’s already about 3mm over my ears.


Last updated October 01, 2015


Johnny Carcinogen October 01, 2015

Such a girl.

Babe In Toyland Johnny Carcinogen ⋅ October 01, 2015

Look at my new profile picture! :D

Johnny Carcinogen Babe In Toyland ⋅ October 01, 2015

... You did not.**

Babe In Toyland Johnny Carcinogen ⋅ October 01, 2015

This picture was in Deadline about 5 years before the film. I had it on a tee shirt. I hated Hewlett when I saw that travesty, but I couldn't hate him forever. ;)

Bomb Shell October 01, 2015

It's surprising how quickly hair grows, I notice it the most when I've dyed it!

I'm jealous of your no shampoo, I wash my hair every two days and it's a pain in the butt as it takes ages to dry, but I'm not brave enough to do what you did!

Perpetually Plump October 01, 2015

I wash my hair once or twice a week. With conditioner. I use a lightweight non-sulfate non-junk conditioner and scrub my scalp with it. Then I used a heavy conditioner on the bottom half of my hair (I have long hair). I don't even know when I last used actual shampoo. Years ago? I did the baking soda and acv, but I felt like I had really greasy spots in my hair quite frequently. I've been doing just conditioner for 7 months now. My kid does it, too, but her hair tends to look greasy the day after. I suspect it's because she's not actually doing anything more than putting water on her hair.

Canadian Lass October 02, 2015

i usually wash mine about twice a week, but with shampoo/conditioner, plus i do straighten so i also have heat treatment stuff going in about 1-2 a week depending on how non-lazy i am .... lol

Crystal Apple October 02, 2015

Have you tried pomace instead of hairspray? You can work it in a bit more...

Lucretia October 08, 2015

I think the no shampoo thing is great, it doesn't work for me though I've tried it several times. Jealous I am! If you don't find it's working too well, try sulphate free shampoos.

I'm glad you're enjoying the new look, it does look great on you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.