28/9/15 in Everyday life

  • Sept. 28, 2015, 4:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I made a vow to start writing in here more often, so I’m gonna write, dammit.

There’s really nothing special going on at the moment. This is the part of my night where I start to feel a little down, a little depressed. I don’t know how much of it is that it’s 4-something-o’clock and everyone who should be is in bed. This period was often made easier by the fact that my ex and I would text around this time (she was always in at work insanely early). That’s not an option now, so maybe that’s something to do with it too.

My friend is coming in from Seattle on Thursday. She’ll be in Boston for about 10 days. The trip had been planned for a while, but the timing helps with getting my mind off the breakup. I did warn her that I wouldn’t be great at playing tour guide; she assured me that she’ll be able to handle herself (I knew that, but good to know she doesn’t have the expectation of me carting her around). We’re going out to New York see our other mutual friend (my old roommate) at the weekend so we can surprise her at her baby shower. (My friend doesn’t drive and I haven’t taken a road trip in a while, so I figured, why not? Not that I’m a big baby shower guy… )

Next therapy session is Wednesday. At the end of our last session there were things I wanted to talk about, as opposed to just sitting there hoping the damn thing would end, so I’m kinda looking forward to it.

The ex: we still haven’t spoken, and it’s been going on three weeks. So much for her wanting to remain good friends! She did have a fundraising walk yesterday and I’d made a sizable donation prior to our split. She did recognize me on her bib – I saw the photo she posted on Instagram, without really going out of the way to see it. She’s still on my feed (and she’s still on all of my social networks). I was tempted to cut all ties in a huff as I usually do, but I figure it might be better to be chill about it and do it when it feels proper to do it. Just another complication of dating in this time and age.

I hit up bars on all three nights of my weekend this week. One was to see a friend in Connecticut, another was for kickball. I’ve discovered a relatively local (half-mile away) dive bar that will become my new spot. The walk home at 2 a.m. isn’t through the best area of the city, but it could be far worse.

Done with my rambling… have a good day.


Last updated November 15, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.