Heartbreaking in 2015

  • Sept. 27, 2015, 8:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m still alive… just been sick, and busy.

My friend had her daughter pass away almost 2 weeks ago. She was 19 months old. It has been horrible around this little town. Everyone is shocked by it, everyone felt it, everyone is sad. Every mother took this to heart. Its the saddest thing ever. Her and her boyfriend are fairly close friends with us… so it was heartbreaking to watch her deal with this.

I was at the hospital that morning, I went to visit my gramma, my cousin was in town and everything. I saw my buddy outside the hospital crying his eyes out but I didn’t stop to talk to him because there were cops everywhere. Then I heard the news, at that point it was still a “rumor” so I just hoped and prayed it wasn’t true. By mid afternoon I found out it was true. I started a gofundme account the next day for them. Our tiny little town raised 9k, in like two days. Its not for the funeral etc because those costs were covered, its just for incidentals. The stuff that people who are grieving really don’t want to have to think about. I don’t give a rats bottom what they spend it on. Hopefully they can take a little vacation!

She and her boyfriend came over to visit about 3-4 days after it happened. The poor girl. My chest ached for her. They don’t know what happened yet, as every test so far was inconclusive. She just didn’t wake up one morning. My friend said she was just blue. SIDS is a likely cause but its extremely rare now, and super rare over the age of 1. I hugged them and tried my best to not cry.

The funeral was just yesterday, I assume they’re a mess right now. She was brave enough to stand up and say a few things for/about her daughter at the service. I would not have been so strong.

This is a lesson to us all. All of the mothers in this town, or anyone who knew her, or the baby. Hug your kids a little closer… you just never fucking know. And don’t sweat the small stuff. The day it happened, I saw so many negative poor me posts on facebook, and I just wanted to punch each and every one of those people. I mean yeah, they likely don’t know her or whatever, but still. Your life could be so much worse right now.

Right now Miley is screaming at me about going to bed, and NOT listening. But I’m just trying to think positively… at least shes still here.

Kristen


Last updated September 27, 2015


theworstofme September 27, 2015

I think as a mother, you never stop feeling these things so deeply, knowing it is just by the grace of God that it wasn't yours. My heart goes out to your friend. I'm going to hug my babies tonight

Mrs.Kristen.Canon theworstofme ⋅ September 27, 2015

<3 I hope that this is the good that comes of all of this... mothers being a little more sensitive, and close with their little ones, even in times of pure chaos lol :) I know I have held them and cried so much recently. I can't believe this happened...

Mr. Mofo September 27, 2015

I'm very sorry that happened.

My mom lost her first two children. Mot people look at me and say she lost the third as well.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Mr. Mofo ⋅ September 28, 2015

:(

Mr. Mofo Mrs.Kristen.Canon ⋅ September 28, 2015

What's with that frown young lady?!?

social.wrkr.mama September 27, 2015

That's awful. I can't imagine.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon social.wrkr.mama ⋅ September 28, 2015

:( horrible.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.