Better Navigation(?), Part Two in Site Updates

  • Dec. 2, 2013, 10:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

OK, so the navigation on the entry page should be consistently at the bottom of the page below the Leave a comment box. It's basically the same format, but slightly different depending on how you get to the entry. If you visit it directly from someone's profile page or book listing, you'll be able to navigate back and forth by the author you're currently reading. If you clicked in from your Bookmarks page, you'll be able to navigate back and forth within your bookmarks. If you visited from the latest entry listing on the main page, you'll be able to skip back through recent entries.

I may also add a way to switch the navigation mode, but that's not there yet. But I still think I like it better than the old way. This involved a lot of messing around in the code, so if something seems broken to you, let me know. :)


ThisIsME December 02, 2013

from bookmarks it works

Gangleri December 03, 2013

Would it be possible to put the next entries on top of the previous ones? I'd rather hit virgin territory before ground I've already tread.

EvequeFou Gangleri ⋅ December 03, 2013

I'll second this, and add another suggestion. You have to know the last unseen bookmark to display the count. You're working on streamlining the flow to get from one bookmark entry to the next. But why is there no "first unseen bookmark" link? I'd really probably use that rather than the bookmarks page at all.

Cat Mommy December 03, 2013

It kind of sucks having to go to the bottom of the page just to go through entries in order. I prefer how it was before with being able to page through from the top.

Leslie Bruce December 03, 2013

I would like to see a way to reply to notes in the "comments" section, rather than going to my individual entry and scrolling down.

Deleted user December 03, 2013

An idea: Have the breadcrumbs on the top of the page display something like this:

  • simple mind
    • Site Updates
      • Better Navigation(?), Part Two

where the arrows navigate back by bookmark, book entry, and chronological entry, respectively.

(Hope all that HTML works in a note...)

Deleted user December 03, 2013

OK, it didn't. The arrows were supposed to look like

next to simple mind, for navigating back and forth through bookmarks.

next to Site Updates, for navigating back and forth through pages in this book.

next to Better Navigation(?), Part Two, for navigating back and forth through this user's entries chronologically.

Deleted user December 03, 2013

Or you could put those things in the top menu, even, independent of the breadcrumbs?

I'd just like to be free to choose any of those options without deliberately choosing a navigation path to get one of them.

Miss Carrie B. December 03, 2013

I like the old navigation better. I don't like having to scroll all the way to the bottom.

Naiad December 03, 2013

I honestly preferred the old way. Having to scroll to the bottom of the page is annoying, and I thought the option of switching between author/book/bookmarks in one place was really intuitive and streamlined. I already miss it.

Jafael December 03, 2013

I'm loving the new navigation feature! Making it loads easier to read through my bookmarks.

CountingStars December 03, 2013

I understand wanting to make it easier to "scroll" through your bookmarks from one place instead of constantly going back to the bookmark page. It isnt how I typically read, so I don't use that function, but I can see how some might. I usually go to the bookmarks page, see who updated, start with the oldest, but stay with one author until I'm caught up.

For instance, if one bookmark updates three times, I typically go to the oldest entry, then (with the old navigation) read through until I'm caught up and then go back to my bookmarks for the next author to catch up on. With the new navigation, if you access an entry from the bookmarks, the only navigation option at the bottom is to go to the previous or next bookmark, meaning I might read five other author's updates before getting to the second entry written by the first person I was reading. Or go back to the top and click the author's name or book and then go to the next entry.

Maybe it's easier on the desktop site, but on mobile (which is what I primarily use) I'm finding it's taking a lot of extra clicks and back-tracking to read in the same way I usually do.

CountingStars December 03, 2013

Is it too complicated to leave a simple way to navigate within a book at the top and then the links to next /previous bookmarks at the bottom?

crafty_tori CountingStars ⋅ December 04, 2013

I like this. It would be nice to have a way to navigate through one author's entries (whether it's by time or book, I'm not sure which I'd prefer).

edna million December 03, 2013

I'm also finding it kind of confusing-- and I agree with CountingStars in that I generally read one person's entries, oldest first, till I'm caught up. Right now I'm reading your entry from my bookmarks, but I can't easily navigate to your next one (assuming I was at an older one) without going up to the very top and clicking on your actual book. The links are to my other bookmark's entries, and not yours. I also managed to get confused with the previous/next entries and was going in the wrong direction on someone's entries, thinking I was clicking "next" when I was actually (I think!) clicking "previous." It seems kind of hard to distinguish between the two.

edna million December 03, 2013

It might make more sense to have one previous entry and one next entry instead of two of each.... maybe??? I'm looking at your two previous entry notifications that show up for me here, and the first one, going to the left, is three days ago, while the next one is one day ago, which seems backwards. Although I will admit I am directionally challenged so left/right; first/last usually don't make sense to me anyway!

Cat Mommy December 03, 2013

The longer this has been in the place the more I dislike it. I feel like there's no comfortable way to page through my books like a diary which I do quite often.

crafty_tori December 04, 2013

Since everyone else is putting in their two cents, I would like to add... I think it's silly for navigation to be at the top of the page, but I also think it's silly for it to be at the bottom. It should be just below the entry, but above the comments. Or maybe in multiple places so everyone is happy?

Deleted user December 04, 2013

I like the new layout, but the option of flipping through one person's book entry to entry is missing. I am also one of those who likes to read chronologically through one person's book, and then move onto the next person.

Deleted user December 04, 2013

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.