End of Labor Day weekend in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Sept. 7, 2015, 4:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been a busy weekend. Didn’t get as much done as I had planned but I did things I “wanted” to do. Owen stayed overnight Friday night with us and when his mom came to pick him to take him to work with her I told her he could stay with me. I was going to the grocery store in town and I’d just drop him off about the time she finished up. Long story short, I acted upon a wild hair and on the way to town, I thought I’d see if she wanted to go with me to Jeff City. I was wanting to go to Joann’s and Hobby Lobby anyway. She said, yep, she and Owen with go with J and I so off we went. Mileage wise it isn’t far, however, curvy roads all the way make it a long trip. No problems though and while I went to Joann’s, A treated herself to a pedi. Poor kid. She gives a tons of Pedi’s for others, but seldom gets to get one. She was done with her Pedi before I was done at Joann’s. :) I did find some things I was looking for to include the clip on earrings to make earrings for the fortune teller gypsy get up for the 24th of this month. Found hoops too so I was feeling success. Then found some fall fabric on sale and bought several yards of it. My favorite color combos of orange and yellow which is very hard to find during non-fall times. Bought more than I need but the price was right and they were having a sale. Good all the way around. There is a Halloween Store in the little mall and A was looking for makeup for Owen’s costume. J shopped there too and found a scary mask. He got me again. Put the mask on the counter to have it rung up and pay and THAT is when he told me his money was at home. He is VERY good at that btw. The clerk was laughing and said he’s good. Yes he is!! Then we headed to Hobby Lobby and the GPS took us in a circle but ended up getting us there all the same.

Only bought some white fabric (5 yds) at Hobby Lobby and a pendant that I make into a forehead thing to go with costume. I never have white fabric when I need it or not enough so I should have plenty now and it was on sale too!

Ate supper at Capt Ds and then A asked if we could go by and see a truck in a nearby to us town that she’d seen on Friday evening in that town. I said, sure why not, so the GPS was adjusted and off we headed. It was almost dark by the time we got to the lot where the 4wheel drive truck was located but she and Owen looked at that one and a few others. Of course it was closed as it was about 7pm but it was good she looked as it had more miles on it, than her car does. She has some other possible vehicles to check out when she has time. Dude and Dudette are also looking for a bigger vehicle. The kids are about to outgrow what the have so time will tell if both the big kids have different or additional vehicles in their future.

A horrible farming accident happened yesterday. My HS friend’s brother on law was knocked off his tractor while he was brush-hogging a neighbors field and it killed him. I was so praying that it hadn’t run over him as his wife and son went looking for him when he hadn’t returned home. I was told today that it had. Please if you pray say a prayer for this family. It is bad enough to have an accident like this end a life, but for his wife and son to find him it something no one should have to see.

I talked with the retirement adviser in Friday morning and he printed out all the papers that have to filled out. He marked the boxes that were “not applicable” such as do I have military service. Nope, I do not. He gave them to me and I brought them home with me to fill out. Needed to talk to my big kids on some of my decisions and glad I did. I had intended to have J get an annuity when I die, but the kids thought it better if I didn’t as which ever one ends up taking care of him, they were afraid it may affect some of His benefits. I can take the extra amount I will draw and put into some kind of an account that will hopefully grow. Right now, there is not much growth but one never knows what will happen. My big kids talked with me and I decided I’ve raised some pretty smart kids. I have all the papers completed and signed and will turn them in tomorrow. I have about 78 work days left. Can you believe it? Me neither!! I have around 115 days total before I retire and I promise I won’t do a count down every time I post an entry. Private? Maybe. lol

Take care and hope everyone has had a great Labor Day. Those of you across the waters, hope you had a great weekend too!! God Bless!


FormerlyMe September 07, 2015

Prayers and I love fall colors

Butterfly Angel September 08, 2015

Do that count down if you want you earned it. Hugs and prayers always my friend.

aunty EM September 08, 2015

Count away. You deserve it and it makes the wait exciting.

crystal butterfly September 08, 2015

Smart kids. And I would also be on a countdown.

RosesAreRed September 14, 2015

Sad about the farm accident..

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.