Shame in Everyday life

  • Dec. 2, 2013, 9:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The feeling washed over me this morning when a couple incidents popped up in my head. Writing this entry caused a couple more to come to the fore.

I know why I feel shame. In fact, I should.

You should stop reading here if you're worried about having a lower opinion of me. Or maybe it's me worried about you having a lower opinion of me. My prideful self would hate that.

I only think about these things very occasionally. Not sure why I do, or why I did these things in the first place, except for incident 4, which I explain slightly below.

  1. I was 5 or 6. For some reason, me and the neighbor girl upstairs decided to get naked. Were we touching each other? I'm not sure. I don't remember that much. Her mom found us. All I remember is being grounded, for a while, sitting in my bedroom and feeling like the worst person in the world.

  2. A year or two or maybe three later, who knows. I am at the local after-school joint, after swimming class. Suddenly I decide to grab a kid in the junk. Why? I don't know. I thought it was supposed to tickle, that I do remember.

  3. Fast-forward a couple years. A kid I thought I was pretty friendly with in school, and I did something similar. I don't know why.

  4. A few more years. I'm 13 or so and I'm staying with my aunt. Another aunt and her kids, and a friend of hers and her kids were also spending time there. There is a girl two or three years younger than me, child of aunt's friend. I was in the early stages of puberty and found her attractive. Somehow we end up in a room with a couple of other kids, her and I on a bed. I start tickling her all over. There was no touching of her genitals, I specifically remember avoiding that. I do remember her saying, though, that her dad never tickled her like that. Again, more shame.

Am I a molester? By the strict definition, I guess so.

I don't know my compulsions for these incidents. As far as I know, I wasn't abused, but that certainly isn't normal behavior.

For some reason this morning at work, incident No. 3 popped into my head. I don't know why it did, and quite frankly, it disturbed me when it did. I felt paralyzed with disgust for a good 30 seconds.

I don't even know why I'm writing about this, really, other to get it out there and documented. Maybe I'm hoping it'll help me confront some old demons? Not sure. All I know is I had to write about it. And I really hope I don't come across as a total creep because, while that may be the case, I don't want to be thought of that way, even by strangers and people who have no clue whom I am.


The Changeling December 02, 2013

Oh, please, please do not be so hard on yourself. At all. You are no molester. You were (are) a completely normal, curious person. At times we are all curious about our own bodies and those of others. And when you are so young, your moral fortitude is not in place yet and you dont have any idea of what your doing is not right. You need to do something, talk to someone about this guilt you harbor. You are normal. Please know and believe this. As long as you dont go around inappropriately groping and generally being a molester, please let that guilt go. It'll make you fucking crazy if you dont. And just so you know, I commend you for putting these words out there. I'm sure it was extremely difficult to do. -K

king of i The Changeling ⋅ December 02, 2013

Thanks for the comment! Means a lot to even get just one piece of feedback on this post, whether positive or negative.

Newzlady December 02, 2013

I'm not creeped out by anything you wrote. But the girl in #4? What's up with her dad and the tickling?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.