6 going on 16! Advice? in 2015

  • Sept. 1, 2015, 12:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Another wedding under my belt. I need a break. I have another one out of town this weekend, then wedding makeup the next weekend, then a weekend off, then another out of town wedding.

I keep forgetting that in a week (exactly) both of my kids will be in school full time and I’ll have plenty of time to edit. I don’t know what I’m worried about. I got this. Right? lol

Things with Miley have been rough lately. She got this horrible little attitude on her that makes me want to reach out and smack her upside the head. I actually had to give myself a little time out last night and go sit on the deck or I was seriously going to flat out scream in her face, or just back hand her.

I feel like a swift back hand would keep her from talking back! However, the day and age has changed and now we can’t do anything to our disrespectful children. Which is why they stay buttheads. UGH. If I would have said half the things this kid says to me, I would have had missing teeth. I swear. Not that she says bad things but its the attitude in which she says them!!

I’ve gotta get back into the “Quiet Time” policy. She gets me so mad that I throw her in her room. And now she relates her room to a place of punishment, so now shes giving me a hard time at bed time.

What do you moms out there do for “punishments”? I took a Power of Positive Parenting course, and I found it extremely helpful. Quiet times seem to work and also one of the main things I lacked prior to that course (a few months back) was consistency. I’m really good with routine, however I have caught myself threatening from a distance instead of getting up and dealing with it and following through. A lot of “if you do that again, you’re not going to ” or “stop doing that or else I’ll _” and so on.

Now I get up, and take them from the situation and follow through with quiet times and time outs, with timers! Also, rewarding them when they are playing good. I hate interrupting them sometimes because it does, but its worth it for them to hear when they’re being good, and not only getting attention when they are misbehaving.

School starts in a week!!! I’ve gotta get my ass in gear. And I’ve gotta get their asses in gear too. Earlier bedtime and earlier wake ups! Starting tomorrow.

Kristen <3


Pockets September 01, 2015

uhm yeah i spank.
i'm totally a spanker.
and yannow...making them stand in the corner.
facing the corner...with their hands behind their back...in silence.
but never in their bedroom. always the living room.

when i was a kid it was a backhand...
i learned mighty quick not to backtalk mah momma but you cant DO that nowadays and all kids are little assholes.

i also take away everything fun.
and i give them the silent treatment.
cuz mah momma used to 'take away' my permission to speak...but that never worked w mah kids so i dont speak to them until they apologise.
which prolly sounds mean, but its better than beating the crap out of them.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Pockets ⋅ September 01, 2015

lol And this is just it, I will do anything so that I don't beat the crap out of her lol

Daisyhead Princess September 01, 2015

I'm all for spanking a kid that gets out of line. And standing in the corner is good. I would also take away tv time etc. And if they don't have chores yet, I'd start. Nothing major but they're old enough to pick up their toys or fold towels or dust or something.

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Daisyhead Princess ⋅ September 01, 2015

Its trying to GET them to do their chores... so now we are back to punishments for not listening. -_-

Mr. Mofo September 01, 2015

I really think that killing a kid's unicorn will do wonders for their discipline

Mrs.Kristen.Canon Mr. Mofo ⋅ September 02, 2015

I will consider this.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.