Friday Night in Days of My Destiny

  • Aug. 31, 2015, 4:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

On Friday night the girls slept over at my in-laws’ for the first time since we moved back. It was high time we had a break so we did! We lay in bed for a little while, just catching up on the day, then we had showers and got ready to head out for dinner and a drink or two. We went to Pumpyard, a hip new place in this city where they brew their own beers. I had a cider and L had a beer. We talked and relaxed. There were lots of people and I liked the general vibe of the place, it reminds me of the Brisbane Powerhouse. I noticed I was the only one wearing as much make-up as I was wearing. I had used rouge on my cheeks and had bright red lipstick on and mascara, yet all the other women looked as though they had nothing on their faces at all. They had a very natural look about them and I realised this must be In. L and I talked about how coming home has been a little bit like stepping out of a time machine lol. It’s as if we’ve been stuck in the 90’s and we’ve just stepped out into the correct time and all these little things are the things we are noticing, lololol.

It got a bit hot and stuffy after a while and we needed some fresh air so we made our way outside into the cool night and walked and talked. We got to a place that looks like nothing too major when we drive by during the day, but we have noticed groups of people enjoying their time there so we thought we’d check it out. I’m SO GLAD we did because it was exactly what we needed!!!!! Delicious meals, delicious drinks (cocktails etc) AND a man playing jazz on a grand piano!!!!! YES!!!!!! Ahhhhhhhhh. It was SO lovely. The waiter treated us like royalty and we felt truly spoiled. I felt like I could literally FEEL the musical notes entering my ear canals, soothing my ear drums and oiling my soul. It was just perfect. We walked home afterwards and felt so revived. It had been a WONDERFUL night.

This story is TBC because it’s bedtime for the girls now. But just quickly:

In other news, Little L has been making up songs lately. They all go to the tune of the alphabet song, up to the letter P. These are some of her songs (I wish I could remember all of them but she makes up about six per day lol):

“I am a packet of olden-day clothes, I don’t know why I am olden-day clothes.”

“I am a brand new roll of toilet paper, nobody has used me yet.”

“I am a house and I like being a house, because everybody lives in me.”


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.