Sentiment in The dating game

  • Aug. 26, 2015, 6:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve never been the kind of girl who receives flowers from boys. Tim, who I lived with for three years, used to buy me them quite often, but since then, over the last 9 years, it’s been a bit hit and miss, the odd bunch here and there.

To the point that my mum has even gone out and bought me flowers sometimes. My birthday is valentines day, so you’d think between the two occasions a boyfriend of two years would at least send some kind of floral gesture, but no. I think my mum just didn’t want me to sit and be looking at my sister’s flowers, and hers from my dad.

Anyway, the point being, imagine my surprise when joey turns up on my doorstep last night with a gorgeous bunch of flowers, completely unexpected, with a note saying simply, thankyou for being mine.

Then, he sat me down and said sincerely that he’s only bought flowers in the past as an apology for something and he wanted to buy me flowers just because, and that he doesn’t want to make the mistakes he’s made before where they’ve only ever been an apology and looking at them, although nice, is a reminder of whatever the argument had been about for both people involved.

We’ve had a lot of chats lately about honesty, and how I feel like he’s not very forthcoming in telling me what he’s thinking or how he feels about stuff so for him to say that means so much, and I just love what this bunch of flowers signifies.

We’ve had a rough few weeks, the house is still not sorted, between problems with the bank and problems the ex is creating, it feels like there’s no end in sight to this problem. But we’re muddling through together, and despite the arguments and misunderstandings we’ve had at times, we’re really good. Really good. I’m so excited for where this could go.

Xx


I need tea. August 26, 2015

:)

WildflowerHeart August 27, 2015

Just because surprises are the best 😊

The Tranquil Loon September 05, 2015

Gosh, why have you not been on my feed? Oh so, it's Joey now? Good for you. I must catch up. I've missed reading you. I thought you have not been on. I don't know why I couldn't see your postings. hmmmm...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.