Twitter: Short Snippits in Book Two: The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era

  • Aug. 21, 2015, 5:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

(1) I’ve been an even shittier Prose Boxer than usual. My depression, anxiety, and (tiny bit) of rage at a whole mess of things has put me far too inside my own head. When I’m like that… I don’t have the attention span to read or do much of anything. The anxiety, you see. But I realized (partially with help from a PBer) that… y’know what? What did I love doing before law school that I haven’t done much of? Are there things that take a lot of time that I could be doing to while away my long stretches of time? The answer to both was… read. Why didn’t I think of it before?!? Yes, I need to (and will) exercise more as well… for the health of both my body and mind… but I used to gorge myself on books. Law School (for obvious reasons) changed that pretty intensely. Get back into it!! And… hopefully… catch up with all of you people… and other people IRL… and other stuff that can only be achieved when my brain isn’t stuck on
alt text

(2) The real reason I’m writing right now, though… the strangest thing happened. The website for Iowa Government Attorneys hasn’t updated with a new job since the Dallas County position at the beginning of June. Now, as I’ve explained… that hasn’t stopped me from applying to places. I’m up to 7 applications sent out this month. But today, just after noon, the Iowa Government Attorney Opening Page updated! Black Hawk County Attorney’s Office.
alt text
Some may know, others may not, that back in May of this year… Black Hawk County was one of the first jobs I applied for. It is close to my best friend in the entire world, close to my wife’s family, and where I went to college. So… lots of familiarity and positives associated with that area for myself, my wife, my marriage, and everything. HOWEVER… I sent in my application in May because an old friend of mine was leaving, they interviewed me but during the interview they told me it was a courtesy interview. That they had already selected an intern for the job, but wanted to interview me because I knew the outgoing attorney. Pain in the ass as the interview required an 8 hour round trip.
alt text
The problem for me today, then, was… what do I do? I’ve already applied to this job, I’ve already interviewed for this job, I’ve already been rejected for this job.... should I just… apply again? Do I tell them I’ve already been interviewed? I mean… does the fact that this all happened only 3 months ago matter or is the recency not an issue here?
alt text
Ultimately, I applied for the job again anyway. Sent along a little letter to the administrative assistant informing her that I had applied in May but I did not know if she would still have my information so here it was again, look forward to the opportunity of working in your office, blah blah blah. It is definitely one of those things right now where… yeah, I want the job and location. I have NO hopes or expectations (because they have been utterly demolished after almost 30 rejections) but… the ability to apply to ANY job that I even sort of want… is new for this month! So… I needed it. Applying for jobs is draining and depressing… applying for jobs you;re not excited about is more draining and depressing. Applying for a job you might actually want to do is a pick me up. Here’s hoping that, if I don’t get this job, it at least starts a trend of positive opportunities!

alt text


Last updated January 04, 2016


Deleted user August 21, 2015

That is such a great way to think. I am really proud of you!

stargazing August 21, 2015

Sending you positive vibes!!

Foofah August 21, 2015

It sounds like this job could be exactly what you want/need! Hearing no for several times has to wear on you, but maybe it was because you were meant for this job! Best of luck, sending lots of positive thoughts your way.

This made the news here, was wondering if you had heard about it?
http://sourcefed.com/teens-attack-elderly-woman-at-church/

Park Row Fallout Foofah ⋅ August 21, 2015

HA! Yeah, I know that story. One of the culprits AND his mother were in my courtroom this morning!!

Foofah Park Row Fallout ⋅ August 22, 2015

Good! Glad they were caught!

Spilledperfume August 22, 2015

Good luck. I would have re-applied as well.

Sharee August 22, 2015

I think reapplying was a good idea. If there had been some qualification issue with the last interview, then it might be different. And yeah, searching for a job is the worst.

colojojo August 22, 2015

Exercise is what gets me through my difficult days and relieve the internal emotional stresses I've had, and I have all the time in the world to do it unemployed. I hope that and reading will help you too :)

Always Laughing August 28, 2015

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.