Twitter: Surface in Book Two: The Fifteenth Year of the Third Millennium of the Common Era

  • Aug. 11, 2015, 9:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Balance, it seems, is not my forte. This week my hours have increased to 21… so almost double, which is good, but not full time- of course. Thing is… this also happens to be the week (of course) where sleep has been difficult. But even when I can sleep (averaging about 4 or 5 hours) I have nightmares about travel. The symbolism is obvious and not that difficult to decipher but… little sleep compounded by nightmares makes for a tired, therefore sore, Me. Still scouring the Legal Job Market, of course. It is frustrating trying to plan ahead when the road beyond is so obscured. Wife was mentioning something about Holidays and I couldn’t help but instantly think if I have a job by then… but she also mentioned something about the distant future and I still thought if I have a job by then. I come from a family, and I am very much a person, that plans. Plans to the hilt. Contingencies upon contingencies to make sure that whatever happens we aren’t caught entirely unawares. But… it is hard to do ANY planning (primary or contingency). For example… our lease runs out in November. Should we extend it? Find a new place in Omaha to live? Will I have received a job offer by then? It is hard to feel centered about anything with the uncertainty of this Job thing weighing on everything. And I thank you for the support and comments but… my faith that a job will come along has been considerably dampened.
alt text


Last updated January 04, 2016


Deleted user August 11, 2015

I am feeling you right now. The discouragement. The intimidation. The wanting to plan. UGH. We can do this! Lets keep moving forward...

Park Row Fallout Deleted user ⋅ August 13, 2015

If/when we get on the other side of this... get jobs, become adults (lol)... we should co-operate on a pitch for a comic book with two Warriors forging ahead... but the whole thing is just an allegory for modern job hunts

Deleted user Park Row Fallout ⋅ August 13, 2015

This sounds incredible! We could switch off being the writer and the illustrator!

echø Deleted user ⋅ August 14, 2015

Totally not my conversation but I'm jumping in to say I would so read that :-P

Deleted user echø ⋅ August 14, 2015

Yay!

Spilledperfume August 11, 2015

Always Laughing August 13, 2015

Hope you've been able to get some rest since this entry.

Park Row Fallout Always Laughing ⋅ August 13, 2015

A little bit, but not much. Foolishly, dangerously... I may have to return to some unsavory methods. I haven't had alcohol in a while (just personal choice and finances) so... I may have to reintroduce that into the bed-time ritual

Always Laughing Park Row Fallout ⋅ August 13, 2015

I have been leaning towards that.

echø August 14, 2015

Have you tried melatonin? I'm sure you have but I've had trouble sleeping my whole life and finally got some relief with it. Last time I was looking it took me 18 months to find a job and it was excruciating. :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.