Seven in Sweltering Summer Month

Revised: 08/07/2015 2:17 p.m.

  • Aug. 7, 2015, midnight
  • |
  • Public

I’m sampling from NoJoMos in the past. It’s lazy, but these are things that i think still migh be interesting or different. From 2013:

What Job would you never take?

  1. Another job with the four-letter.
  2. Any job that’ll hire me without showing me the work environment, first.

So, I’ve had learning experiences in my last two positions.

It happens.

I needed a job after I got laid off in the beginning of 2013. It busted my compensation level back to what I’d been earning in 2006/7.

I could second-guess a lot of things, but I’ve always tried to do proper engineering work, even if I’m getting paid as a point-and-drool seatwarmer.

That I was in the middle of trying to get my health under control didn’t help.

The main thing that comes through for me is that The Formula doesn’t work. My late father used to joke about needing that dog-chasing-his-tail graphic in every PowerPoint presentation.

You don’t.
You don’t need to exactly hit the page limit on a proposal; you need to answer the question. If your answer is five pages, so be it. If your answer is two and a half, but it hits everything, even better.

Being verbose and flowery doesn’t help you get your point across!

I could now go on a tirade about engineering in a clean environment, but I don’t feel like doing that. But nothing should be mystical when you’re truly engineering. You should know why something works or doesn’t.

Is that so difficult to understand?

But, hey, I haven’t “been doing this a long time;” what do I know?


Last updated August 07, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.