personal chef in 2015

Revised: 08/02/2015 8:49 p.m.

  • July 3, 2015, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

11:22pm

I’m going to try to type this up real quick. I’m still behind on posting so I don’t know why I act like I’m talking to someone. No one’s going to see this for a while. heh.

The BBQ with JR went well. He ended up calling earlier that morning to talk business stuff [I don’t even remember what it was. ha] and I asked if he was going to come over to eat. After some back and forth “IF-you-want-too’s“, we finally set up a half-way plan. Only I realized later that we didn’t even come up with a time or anything. So I called back after a while and asked if he needed us to get anything. We discussed menu options and then came up with a 5 o’clock meetup.

He showed up around 4ish and dropped some stuff off. He didn’t want it sitting in his truck while he went to do other things [skin and slaughter deer apparently..] He also dropped off a watermelon sour patch kid slurpee that he’d called to ask if I wanted. That thing was so sour. It makes my mouth cringe just thinking about it! The day before, during our marathon work session, he’d left in the middle of it to meet a guy and grab some paperwork. On his way back he called and asked if I wanted a cherry coke [we’d previously discussed our mutual love] and then showed up with that and some cookies. I didn’t have the heart to tell him that I’m kinda being picky about what I eat these days. A little won’t kill me though. It’s taken me three days to finish the coke. haha. And it turns out that the cookies were white chocolate macadamia, which we also happen to share a love for. Crazy coincidence!

I always seem to discover all these things we have in common. Like pretty much during every conversation. It’s cool. As long as he doesn’t read too much into it! =) We’re definitely getting to know each other a lot better. He was here for a few hours, mostly messing up my bbq grill. hah. But he cooked some good steak and some delicious bacon-wrapped asparagus! So awesome!

His mom ended up coming by later [our parents have known each other a long time] but she just grabbed a bag of food to go and didn’t stay long. Or, at least only long enough to get the food and give JR a hard time about all the beer we were drinking. Typical overprotective mom. haha. I guess we had had a few bottles. He’d brought over some Mississippi Mud jugs after he found out I liked darker beer. It reminded me a lot of the Irish Death stuff that CK introduced me to. Which kind of brought all that into my head, but whatever. I was talking about how I’d found out about this WA beer and then I just mentioned that he knew the guy. He didn’t ask any questions after I’d given him the name though he was distracted at the grill.

We also talked a little about his friend, the one he’d shown me the picture of, but my mom walked outside right as the conversation got rolling and we both got distracted. Total bummer! I wanted some gossip on the kid. haha.

Mostly we just sat around in the courtyard, talked, and listened to music on his phone. After dinner I showed him the ‘67 and he left not long after that. Helped clean up and everything! I am going to have to invite him over more often. Cooks and cleans! lol.

Today he called me a bit after 9am. I told him that it was too early, I hadn’t had my coffee yet, but he had work stuff to go over. Still don’t understand how he gets up so early! I’d been out of bed for less than an hour [hehe], but at least I was sitting outside already. Mom passed the phone straight over to me instead of answering herself. He made a comment the other day about not having my phone number but I think I played it off pretty well. Mom’s super weird about the idea of him having my personal number and I don’t even answer it anyway. We’re doing ok with the communication so far. He even called me again later in the afternoon, while I was sitting in the same courtyard but had switched to my afterwork beer. haha. He said we were going to have to start charging him for the minutes. I think that’s a good idea!

Speaking of phone stuff. There was a news report about how CA was no longer #1 in gas prices. Alaska had gained that spot. And I laughed out loud and mentioned how CK made the wrong move. Mom asked me if I’d heard anything from him.
Me: Nope. J asked me that the other day too, but I haven’t heard anything. I just got those pictures when he first left and that’s it.
Mom: That’s weird. You should send him a message saying that you’re still waiting on more pictures.
Me: Nah. I don’t think so. I don’t even know how the phone situation works out there.

Except I didn’t tell her the part about how I’d already sent a couple messages and they’ve all been ignored. I also didn’t tell her the part about how I’d just recently learned that he was calling/texting J and the gang, so it obviously works.

Oh well. She doesn’t need to know all the details and I’d rather not get into it again. My brain is still trying to wrap it’s way around all those new discoveries. I keep having all these thoughts about what I may or may not do if I ever run into him again. I’m halfway between completely ignoring him and just acting like nothing ever happened.

I can’t believe tomorrow’s the 4th of July already! We have a party to attend but my mom’s friend is coming to town from TX and she’ll probably arrive in the middle of the afternoon. We’re still not sure if we’ll even make the party. I’m trying to prep my mind for all the social interaction and also trying not to get excited about the idea of staying home and watching the fireworks in the backyard. We’ll see how it goes. I’m sure I’ll update again at some point. This friend is supposed to be in town a couple weeks, then my aunt/uncle get here for another week or so. It should be interesting to see how we manage all these people coming and going along with our regular schedules.

Happy (almost) Independence Day America!

rose.
11:47pm


Last updated August 02, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.