Gaslight (11) in Gaslight

  • Aug. 11, 2015, 9:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Kate stood in Lydia’s bedroom doorway while Lydia went through her closet looking for something black to wear.

“Think funeral not wedding my sweet. ”

Lydia’s hand were visibly shaken but it was not fear she was experiencing. This was raw excitement. Years of her secret suffering has come to the surface and the thought of some kind of revenge was pumping adrenalin through her veins. Kate came over and started looking through the clothes and said,

“Ooh, I like this. Why Lydia, black leather skirt. You little tease. I didn’t think you had it in you.”

Lydia bared the smallest of smiles and said,

“Not for tonight. What if we have to run or something? I have some black jeans in my drawer and this Def Leppard sweatshirt will do fine. “

“Yes Maaaaaam” Kate sarcastically replied. “So little girl you are up for this right? I don’t need no crybaby falling apart on me.”

Lydia had a stern and determined look on her face and said,

“Don’t you worry about me none. I can take care of myself.”

Kate laughed and replied,

“Ooooh, tough guy now are you. We will see little girl. Let’s get you out of those clothes and into something more sinister shall we?”

Lydia dropped her shorts to the floor and pulled her sweater over her head. She felt Kate eyes upon her and expected her to come over and start pawing her again but Kate kept her distance. Lydia slipped on her jeans and sweatshirt and Kate nodded her approval.

“We’ll be needing a little makeup for a disguise. Don’t want you too easy to describe. “

“you don’t expect me to smear that shit all over my face like you do you? Nothing like trying to stand out with that black crap all over your face. ”

Kate just smiled and replied,

Wanna know what a witness will say when asked for a description of me? It’ll be, woman, dressed in black with black shit all over her face. They will just remember this shit and nothing else. But hey, do what you want, just remember if you get grabbed I will take you out my dear.”

Lydia sighed and said,

“Okay I’ll grab some makeup but I’m not putting it on unless I have to. I’m not going out the door looking like you.”

Kate snorted a laugh and replied,

“Speaking of the door, let’s hit the road sweetheart. we’re not getting any younger.”

Lydia felt the deep rumble of the Mustang’s exhaust as Kate pulled onto the street. Although a muscle car by definition Kate drove slowly down the road. The dash board threw an eerie glow on Kate’s face, especially with the dark smears of makeup across her brow and cheeks. Lydia gazed at Kate as she drove. How she found herself in this moment with a woman who she could not comprehend but strangely no longer feared.

“What’s your deal anyway detective?”

Kate eyes didn’t leave the road and it seemed as though she may not answer.

“I told you. My sister’s dead. “

It was Lydia’s turn to bring silence to the vehicle. In a whisper that seemed to be to no one and everyone.

“There’s a lot of dead people. Maybe dead is better than wishing yourself dead.”

“Well, Lydia my dear we are going to have someone wishing themselves dead very soon.”

Lydia spotted the cross two blocks down atop of the brick but rather plain church. The steeple was vented for the lone bell above the front entrance. Large but otherwise mundane structure with a pair of entrance lights and black windows which in the day shown the typical Christian tragedies in colored glass.

Kate drove past the church and pulled around the block. As expected a matching structure stood at the edge of the parking lot. The parish home had a number of lights glowing through the windows. Kate continued down the block until she could parallel park among other cars likely there for the night.

“What do you say sweetheart. How about we go reminisce with an old friend of yours?”


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.