It started with a book. in 1st

  • July 27, 2015, 3:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was up far too late last night for the comfort of sleep to quell away an unusual morning irritation. I was up late reading. The train wreck reflected in the book *The Book Thief * had me riveted to the pages till my eyes lids were too heavy and the hand holding the book was like cooked spaghetti.
I woke at 5:30 used the restroom and read another chapter to the same end. I slept again till Rocky came home. After a few moments of complaints about his back hurting we headed to Shoney’s for breakfast. I was dragging and the waitress (though we had only been there once in the last 6 months) was very empathetic to my state of lethargy. “Two buffets, two coffees, two sweet teas.” She looked at me funny for the teas. “You can’t chug hot coffee.” She laughed and I headed to the buffet. I ate a mix of grits, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, and cheese. I would say roughly 2 teaspoons of each mixed together. I also ate a couple pieces of french toast but it was the coffee that coaxed me toward at least acting alive. By the end of my third cup I was feeling far more normal.
However, as you have probably noticed from the tone of this very blog I feel not quiet myself.
Rocky and I talked about what we needed to accomplish today and could not come up with anything that would take us further from home than groceries. He wanted to go to Shelbyville and that would take us back by the house so I asked to stop in. The amount of coffee I drank was already working it’s magic on my gut and the comfort of home before heading back out seemed like an amazing luxury.
We rested for a moment at home as our resolve to do anything melted away. Rocky disrobed and climbed into bed. I played on my 3DS while sleep gave Rocky it’s cotton swaddled comfort.
Me mind cataloged what groceries we needed while I debated a nap. When the lights are off I get tired. Rocky calls it “parrot syndrome” because like a parrot when a sheet is put over their cage I will go to sleep simply because it’s dark. I think I slept twenty minutes before I got up determined to finish the book today.
I read as my mind played with the thing I COULD be doing instead of reading. thinking to myself that if I go get the groceries alone Rocky will have to sit in the car that much less time. He had already stated that he was probably going to call out of work Wednesday because he was sure it wouldn’t be much better by then. I needed to take the trash to the dump as well. The pigs in this house had let it pile up and then the day before dad “was going to take it in the morning” He got into an accident.
I know, I neglected to tell you but dad was slowing to a stop (in his van) was rear ended by a pickup truck who was rear ended by a car going at least 20 over the limit. This leaves him with no vehicle until further notice. He has talked with his insurance company and they have told him once an accident report is in their hands the person at fault’s insurance company will have to pay for a rental for him. He seems to think this rental will be his until further notice. “Dad, as soon as they cut you a check for your losses you will need to provide a vehicle for yourself.” He said it should all be taken car of Thursday.
A couple hours went by reading about a young German girl and her lack of understanding for what was going on around her in the world as told by the Grim Reaper.
At 12:30ish a knock came at the door. The mailman with a certified letter. My heart raced as I looked over the address before signing to small pink form. Was it from The State of Michigan sending me a letter about court and fines? No. My heartbeat slowed back to normal as I signed. It was something for my dad so I called up to his room. Within moments he was talking about how he needed to go to the bank, post office, and Wartrace (2 hr drive from here) on Wednesday. I told him I would not know if I could do it until Tuesday, when I was informed about my status with Joshua’s daycare transport for Wednesday.
Determined to push onward with the book I estimated I would be finished in the next few hours and should take the trash. I bagged it up and loaded my car in the sweltering heat of mid day (95 F, 35C roughly) then took a small air conditioned break. Hans escapes death and manages to be released from duty in the LSE. A young girl manages to find her Jewish friend amongst those being forced away. It was then roughly 1:45.
The trash dump opens at 2. They have an amazingly long 3 hour lunch, or at least they used to. It takes approximately 20 minutes to get there so I headed out. The heat of the day will only get worse I suppose. Between 2-4 is when the heat stored in concrete rises to meet that of the sun, so I’ve been told. I tend to shy away from doing anything outside during the summer, more so in the early afternoon hours. Still, I felt an extreme compulsion to be rid of the trash that had piled in the kitchen. Ever wonder why we eat out so much? Stop.
I apparently drove fast than intended. My guess is it had mostly to do with the fact that my car was pact with foul smelling refuse and the only deterrent of the sickly sweet rotting air was the speed at which the air moved from the vehicle. I was daydreaming about the air conditioning at Wal-Mart only miles away from the dump and the next stop before heading home. I didn’t need gas but I wanted a good excuse to go inside for even a moment and enjoy the cool air.

(place writing break here, return to writing momentarily)


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.