Last Logger's Game in Secrets from myself

  • Aug. 11, 2013, 4:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We went to our last Logger's game of the season last night. They play again tonight and while they might go on to playoffs it's not certain. They hover in second place.

This is college summer baseball - the Northwoods League - and the players are mainly freshmen and sophomores. They play really good ball and it's fun to watch.

I didn't take my camera last night - after all a baseball game is a baseball game isn't it? And I'd taken pictures at a couple of earlier ones.

 photo DSC07166.jpg

 photo DSC07166.jpg

Last night would have been good for pictures. There were two sets of Little League kids who stood with the players for the National Anthem. The stands were filled with people and we were up high where we could view a whole well of people. We had a view behind us of the branch of the Mississippi - well actually it's Black River - and it was full of boats and views of the setting sun.

Loggers won. They came back from a 2-0 score to get a bunch of home runs. Only two I guess, though there were players on base - to win 6-2.

We sat behind the family of a player from Solon IA. It was his mother's birthday. He had a good night. He bunted to advance play in what became a run and later he hit a ball out of the park to score himself and another runner who was on base.


NorthernSeeker August 11, 2013

Hi. I'm here visiting. I've been reading my history book and photoediting.

I like these photos of the ballpark. They make me feel like I was there. There's something langourous about watching baseball outside in the summer.

Linda August 12, 2013

:) What a nice evening. Love these photos, even if they weren't from the game you watched.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.