29 in Sweltering Summer Month

  • July 29, 2015, 5:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

.29. What’s something you used to do often, but have gotten away from, and really miss?

I think I was thinking about fishing when I came up with the prompt.

Considering more, I don’t really miss being out on a pier all night. I don’t know where that wave of nostalgia came from. The humidity gets pretty old pretty quickly. You come home after a night where you’re glazed in sweat.

So, bad prompt.

I find it interesting how you can have nostalgic moments about things, that when you consider them further, you’d never do again.

That night drinking…
That trip to....
I wonder what happened to her....

Yeah, things that really ended badly, but you omit the bad parts when you first remember. Why does that happen?

Truth be told, I went fishing because I didn’t have anything better to do. It’s where I was in life at the time. It’s not like the Brad Paisley song. I didn’t have somewhere else to be, where I was wanted.

Truth isn’t as refreshing as tackle shop beer, is it?

But that is where I formulated one of my rules of beer – if they sell it in a tackle shop, the only place where it’s appropriate to drink it is while you’re fishing. Looking at you, Natty Light.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.