Bittersweet. in Always Recovering, Never Recovered.

  • July 25, 2015, 12:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My memory is alchemy: a halcyon haze of you and me, a utopian facimile of cosy, rosy unity in freeze-frame flash photography- entwined, combined, our minds aligned- a closed-circuit capture reminisced on, enraptured; retrospect blurring the scars of the fractures… finding future such a mystery, I’m gazing backward wistfully, and chasing after history.

It’s invigorating, excavating: reconstructing, recreating- your words: they’re still my thoughts, verbatim, issued as an ultimatum. It’s human archaeology, rebuilding that mythology in powerless apology; the same old methodology unearthing buried settlements in the pseudonym of betterment, a false face so benevolent, the lure of a cure for discontent.

Grown swiftly vacant with impatience, dazed and drunk on aspirations, I’m a braindead disciple of all your false idols: at the fallen altar of your church, built on bones and whipping-birch, I hang from the trellis we built from the relics, my noose weaved of the laurel wreaths I lay so readily at your feet, a willing participant in defeat.

Every day a procession of covert concessions, a concealed confession of yielding regressions, I’m a spineless possession of mindless obsession; prostrate in the face of your passive aggression. Back on my knees in resignation- in pliant silent supplication- to repeat by rote an education rampant with self-medication: retroactive de-contamination; a crude clandestine degradation, at the strangling-hands of desperation.

With vision a vignette caved in at the borders, narrowed in pursuit of obeying your orders; cold rivers of shivers flow free through my knees and my helium head is adrift on the breeze: dropping pretenses with trembling hands, dizzy and drifting, I’m seasick on land.

This is the ugly face of weak disgrace- the underside you slyly hide, in rhetoric and aesthetic lies- you’re a mouthful of sawdust that sparkles like stardust, offering emptiness gift-wrapped in glitter, the first kiss so sweet but the aftertaste bitter… and I’m beginning the ending all over again, in the two-faced embrace of a counterfeit friend.

A fool for your duplicity- replete in sweet complicity, in perfect synchronicity- we’re twirling, whirling, spiral-swirling; waltzing a breathless clifftop dance of brinksmanship and careless chance, brushing the boundaries of consequence. The absinthe labyrinth of your words- a euphemism of whispered rhythm, the softest song I’ve ever heard- is intoxication, indoctrination: you’ve always been my solid ground, the axis I revolve around; your obsidian eyes are the pull of the tide, the only home I’ve ever found: I fell into them once, and drowned.


Mr. Mofo July 25, 2015

I try to write like this but I just get frustrated and start throwing rocks.

invisible ink July 27, 2015

Absolutely brilliant, not only in content and word weaving and the hidden rhyme scheme. I think some people who read this think wordplay instead of more traditional rhyming poem... it is almost feeble to think this as just a poem... The internal and relentless struggle with demons is described so very well. You are the writer of words worth many reads... it gets better each time it is read...

Deleted user July 28, 2015

Wow

Waiting For Sunrise Deleted user ⋅ July 30, 2015

Haha, thank you... :)

Comrade July 28, 2015

You are a phenomenal word-smith. Your writing is truly an art, I do hope you are making a living out of it!

Waiting For Sunrise Comrade ⋅ July 29, 2015

Thank you so much! I'm incredibly flattered... but sadly I pay the bills with that far less creative occupation usually known as "shelf stacking", lol :)

Comrade Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ July 29, 2015

I used to do shelf stacking, since I have been promoted to running counters. :P

Although I don't have your literate capability.

Waiting For Sunrise Comrade ⋅ July 30, 2015

Oh, awesome! :)

Usually I do overnight shifts working delivery... if I work a day shift I have to do the tills though, but it's soooooo booooooring! I prefer to be moving, it makes the day go quicker! :)

Comrade Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ July 30, 2015

I used to work night shift when i first started working for Sains. Done everything since. Have avoided tills tho. ;)

Moving is so much better. Freedom and less monotomy!

Mr. Mofo September 10, 2015

I take it that is you wearing the Sunglasses? Whomever that lady is, she is very pretty and I want to buy her a fresh apple pie, and do the ooeygooey orgasm dance with her!

Anyways, take care.

LoveSuicide September 18, 2015

Hey, you, are you okay?

I miss you.

Waiting For Sunrise LoveSuicide ⋅ September 20, 2015

Aww... thank you so much.

I guess I haven't been doing so well recently; words have eluded me for some time... but I hope I am just remembering the lost art of self-expression. I hope you are doing okay too, I look forward to catching up with you soon :) xx

LoveSuicide Waiting For Sunrise ⋅ September 24, 2015

Words do not elude you, darling.

When you feel you need to go into hermit mode or radio silence or quiet..

I'll always be here.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.