suggested friends in 2015

Revised: 07/23/2015 6:18 p.m.

  • June 22, 2015, 7 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

9:31pm

Feeling better today. Mostly back to normal. I really just needed to take an evening to dwell, and simmer, and fester in the whole thing. But now it’s all sinking in and I’m accepting. It’ll take some time to work it all out in my head and maybe I’ll mention something about it later. It seems overplayed anyway. [how many times have I said that? ha]

Right now I’m trying not to think about everything I actually have to get done tomorrow. We have a work convention to attend and it sorta snuck up on me. We’re leaving tomorrow, probably early afternoon, and driving about halfway to spend the night a little closer. The location isn’t terribly far but it would find us having to leave very early in the morning and possibly dealing with traffic to get there. I’d rather be safe than sorry when it comes to arriving on time. The first day’s meeting is optional but we already registered for it. I wouldn’t feel right taking up a space and then not showing up.

So off we’ll go. But I haven’t even thought about packing yet. It’s only a few days but it’s all business casual stuff and I’m not even sure I have clean clothes. hah. Tomorrow should be a giant rush of cleaning, washing, packing, and trying to get out the door at a decent hour. Good luck to us!

We worked today since we’ll be missing our usual Wednesday hours. JR showed up near the end there. I offered to do some things over the phone, but he said he’d be there “in a bit.” Which turned into several hours later. He kept us there until almost 7 too. But we did get quite a bit done.

At one point, I was trying to fill out a fax cover sheet when he told me to check this guy out on his phone. This wasn’t anything new. He tends to flip through his phone while I do all the work. hah. He’ll randomly show me things. Like videos of their stupid slip’n’slide flip cup game weekend. [I asked if he was sure that they weren’t all still in college. lol] So I looked over at the phone and it was a picture of a shirtless white guy.

He told me to check him out. That he was a good guy. Maybe I’d be interested? Nice guy. Great guy. Over and over he said these things about him. And then he made sure to mention that he wasn’t originally from here and I’d probably like him because of that. It wouldn’t be someone I knew from before.

I told him that that was a good point. Finally someone who I didn’t know and who wouldn’t know anything about me or the past. This town’s too small. Everyone knows everything and I enjoy living the kind of life where people aren’t sure where I’m at.

This whole picture sharing/good talking thing came out of nowhere though. We weren’t even near any kind of topics like that. When I asked who it was, he told me the full name, and I mumbled some stuff before I realized I knew the guy. I asked if it was the same guy who had come in the office that one day. It clicked for him and he remembered he’d been in there before. He’d spotted him one day outside, called him over to talk, and ended up walking him in to introduce him to me.

Since I’m relatively honest in here: this guy is actually sitting in my “suggested friends” field on fb. I’d noticed him before, after we met, and maybe I’d thought about how it would be cool to know him a little better. I mean, he did have a great handshake. ;-) haha. It was enough to make an impression, at least.

But it was weird/interesting the way that he brought him up. And then insisted several times that I should get to know a guy like him and that he was so great.

Now I just have to figure out a way to bring him up again in conversation. I don’t want to be too pushy about it, or make him think that I’m super into the idea, but I do want to try and find out why he would point out that picture and talk him up.

It is good though. I want to be able to be friends with JR. The kind of friends that could talk about that stuff and hang out together as friends. Strictly friends. That would be kinda great. We have a bunch in common and we could have fun. Let’s just hope this wasn’t some kind of weird test. Although there are probably a dozen other people he could have shown me if it were. And he did way too much good talking to make it seem like that. But who knows.

I’ll play it slow and cautiously until I figure it out. Kinda strange the way it happens only days after that whole other situation.

Time to focus on work for a couple days though. And not eating my way through another ten pounds. I’m seriously trying to make better choices these days. Free food is one of the toughest challenges though. I’m hoping to make it through this one on the right foot. Not that it’s only about food. ha. I am going to be working hard and I sorta feel like I haven’t had a real day off in a while. Which probably means that my battery is on low. I’m going to have to find some magical way to fill up my introvert tank all the way before this whole socialization thing.

Sleep now.

rose.
11:14pm


Last updated July 23, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.