I love a sunburnt country in The OpenDiary (OD) Days!

Revised: 07/21/2015 5:04 a.m.

  • Jan. 24, 2006, 2 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

OD Entry: I love a sunburnt country
OD URL: http://www.opendiary.com/entryview.asp?authorcode=D260587&entry=10209

“My Island Home” - Christine Anu

Six years I’ve been in the city
And every night I dream of the sea
They say home is where you find it
Will this place ever satisfy me
For I come from the saltwater people
We always live by the sea
Now I’m down here living in the city
With my man and my family

My island home
My island home
My island home is waiting for me
My island home
My island home
My island home is waiting for me

In the evening the dry wind blows
From the hills and across the plain
I close my eyes and I’m standing
In a boat on the sea again
And I’m holding that long turtle spear
And I feel I’m close now
To where it must be
And my island home is waiting for me

My home is Australia
We are a land bound by sea
Though I may travel far across the ocean
It will never forget me

My island home.....
My island home is waiting for me


Well that rude noter’s apparently been doing it to a lot of people hehe.
Don’t encourage him/her in the notes though, or even mention they are a loser or whatever, cos they are only seeking attention. The note didn’t bother me, why should it? I love OD and being able to block him/her/it anyway :) woohoo. If only I knew how to send a virus :P

Today was pretty good…no wait, no it wasn’t, it was absolute shit. Only good thing about it is that I don’t have to go to work tomorrow!
Australia Day is good for that thing at least. Oh gee I really need to have more respect for James Cook don’t I? :)

So yeh I spent most of the damn day in the checkout department rather than my own, on account of them obviously being understaffed and customer’s freaking out that everywhere’s gunna be closed tomorrow. Actually, no silly people, we are OPEN tomorrow, just different hours. Gee anyone would think a cyclone was coming. Anyway day’s over and I got a day to do nothing, and can actually watch tennis for once! Woohoo! Semi-finals! Luke’s apparently in Brisbane at the moment, probably hanging out with his old workmates. So I hope I get to see him sometime tomorrow. Not sure if Nev’s gunna be home or not - most probably. Ooo I should check my email to see if anyone’s replied to my ad lol - here goes, I’m expecting nothing, let’s see if I’m right :) ..... yep, there’s nothin lol - just an email from the webmaster saying my ad’s been submitted. Maybe it took a while and they had to approve it first - so maybe it’s only just gone up. I dunno what sort of responses I’ll be expecting, but hopefully I’ll be happier somewhere else than I currently am here. Chermside was good cos I could be myself there, and my housemate’s were pretty cool, it’s just my old housemate’s asswipe boyfriend who was the psychopath. :)

Woohoo day off tomorrow!! How shall I spend it? :D Happy Australia Day for tomorrow to all my Aussie mates and have a great day to everyone else! :)

“My Country” - Dorothea McKellar

The love of field and coppice,
Of green and shaded lanes,
Of ordered woods and gardens
Is running in your veins.
Strong love of grey-blue distance,
Brown streams and soft, dim skies -
I know but cannot share it,
My love is otherwise.

I love a sunburnt country,
A land of sweeping plains,
Of ragged mountain ranges,
Of droughts and flooding rains.
I love her far horizons,
I love her jewel-sea,
Her beauty and her terror
The wide brown land for me!

The stark white ring-barked forests,
All tragic to the moon,
The sapphire-misted mountains,
The hot gold hush of noon,
Green tangle of the brushes
Where lithe lianas coil,
And orchids deck the tree-tops,
And ferns the warm dark soil.

Core of my heart, my country!
Her pitiless blue sky,
When, sick at heart, around us
We see the cattle die
But then the grey clouds gather,
And we can bless again
The drumming of an army,
The steady soaking rain.

Core of my heart, my country!
Land of the rainbow gold,
For flood and fire and famine
She pays us back threefold.
Over the thirsty paddocks,
Watch, after many days,
The filmy veil of greenness
That thickens as we gaze.

An opal-hearted country,
A wilful, lavish land
All you who have not loved her,
You will not understand
Though earth holds many splendours,
Wherever I may die,
I know to what brown country
My homing thoughts will fly.

____________OD Notes:

Wed, 25 Jan 2006 0:00:00 GMT

C-Dub85
http://www.opendiary.com/entrylist.asp?authorcode=D564075
Wed, 25 Jan 2006 6:26:52 PM GMT
Haooy Austrailia day to you..even though I am an American!

C-Dub85
http://www.opendiary.com/entrylist.asp?authorcode=D564075
Wed, 25 Jan 2006 6:27:22 PM GMT
That should read haPPy..not Haooy

Mt.Handsomepants
http://www.opendiary.com/entrylist.asp?authorcode=A775765
Wed, 25 Jan 2006 8:31:05 PM GMT
I wish I were living on a farm. That would be nice. I love farms. I don know where that came from either. I guess It was just my nerves. Oh well, I still love you!


Last updated July 21, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.