Our first real fight this year. in 2015

  • July 13, 2015, 8:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, Chris and I really got into it.

His work is trying to convince him to go to all these drag races even tho I have weddings to shoot on every one of those weekends. They don’t give a fuck that he is married with kids. They’ve never actually met me, to them I’m just some fuckin figment of their imagination. Chris had a fit when I said I obviously would prefer him NOT to go. Even if he would take the kids. These are my work weekends… I don’t ask for much. He tells me never to book sessions during the week, I don’t. These are fuckin weddings…

Original plan was, I go do the wedding, he stays home with the kids. Thats not so hard, is it? No. NOW he wants to pack up the kids, travel fucking hours away and go race cars… whats he going to do with the kids? Are they riding shotgun as he rips down a track??? Ugh. I’ve been so stressed out thinking about this and he comes at me like “oh you go to Toronto and stuff all the damn time, why can’t I go to a few drag race weekends?”

Lets see uhm, because when I go to Toronto, I BOOK IT 6 MONTHS IN ADVANCE and I tell you all about it and I make sure you’re not busy, and I go with my family or I have someone watching the kids so nothing interferes with YOUR SORRY ASS. Sorry… venting here. But really, the first drag races are this coming weekend, and he tells me about them 5 days ago. That is NOT enough time in advance. So he tells me hes not going, fine, whatever, but hes basically going to resent me for a while. GREAT. We all know how resentment works. Fuck.

So I roll over and take it… I say whatever, you think you can do it, then do it. He still chooses to not go, but then tells me hes going to go to the next ones which are a few hours away and on Aug 1st. There, now I have 18 days notice. Wow thanks. BUT-I HAVE A WEDDING so he still has to bring the kids. Good fuckin luck, sir.

Its just, a total lack of respect for my job. He doesn’t give a fuck about my photography. If I’m not handing him straight up cash at the end of the day, he doesn’t think its a job. This is me tho, this is what I do. This is what I’ve wanted to do for a while now. I’m successful at it as well! I’m decently known around my town and the towns around here. I did this for myself. And I just will never be enough for him … ugh. I can’t believe how amazing the first 6 months of this year were. They were incredible. I had the best time with him and now it all comes crashing down due to these stupid drag races… And no, hes not “working”… so its not considered part of his job. Its basically a party weekend where he can race a fancy car. That is all.

I do realize that he needs to get out and do things as well but man, if that was me and I was springing a random trip on him 10-20 days beforehand, he would flip shit. I told him to plan ahead like he did with the local ones. I knew ahead of time that he wanted that weekend to himself, so I made sure to turn down any weddings that were asked of me for that specific date (two!). All I ask is for some warning. Like if he seriously wants to get into this, then fine, but hes gotta know that most weekends in the summer, I’m busy, so hes gotta let me know a while in advance… I’m talking like a year, considering I’m booked up for next summer already. And who knows, maybe I’d like to go with him, and the girls and make a nice weekend out of it… just can’t be this year.

Ends rant

Other than that, we’ve been enjoying the sun and the pool and camping etc. I did makeup for a wedding on Saturday, made a quick few hundred. I think I almost prefer that lmao. Do the makeup, leave with cash. I don’t have to go home and spend months editing lol.

Kristen <3


JustSurviveSomehow July 13, 2015

A couple hundred to do make-up?? Did you do it for the entire wedding party?? Either way, I'm definitely in the wrong business!

Mrs.Kristen.Canon JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ July 14, 2015

Yes, entire wedding party. I charge 25$ per face. Cities charge around 75$!!! Crazy eh.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.