no transition in 2015

Revised: 07/11/2015 8:42 p.m.

  • June 11, 2015, 2 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

11:22am

I’m back home again. Taking the day to mostly decompress from the trip and being away from the regular routine for so long. It was a wonderful few weeks! Seriously. It’s always so bittersweet to come back home.

I mean, there are certainly a lot more pickups and cowboy hats around here, which always blows my mind since I was in Dallas freakin Texas! But I don’t mind being back in a town like that :-)

My flight was delayed on the way in. We ended up taking off at 12:45 instead of 11:50 so it wasn’t that big of a deal. Although that ended up putting me into Cali right at the start of traffic hour. That wasn’t very fun. I was starving because it was already after 4pm in Texas and I had only had breakfast before I left. We took a few back roads to avoid the major traffic areas [and live an adventure since we didn’t know where we were going hah] and ended up at the ocean with Taco Tuesday on our minds. =) Yum! Welcome home margaritas are my favorite!! So nice to be back near the water! [or at least ocean water instead of flood waters!]

We didn’t spend too much time there, just dinner and drinks, and then headed home. I was passed out in bed by 10:30. It’s kind of nice still living in a different time zone because I’m tired early and I’m awake before 8am. This might instill some good wake/sleep habits without even trying very hard. Not sure how long they’ll last though. I’m already starting to stay up later and later. I’ll just have to force myself to wake up early so I’ll be tired at night.

Anyway, yesterday I had to be at work by 10am so it was good I fell asleep so early. Full days at work [until after 6pm] on your first day back from a several week long vacation is not the easiest thing in the world. The good thing is that I had a ton of stuff to do, especially to catch JR up on everything he’d let slip behind. He actually got there within about 5 minutes of us opening the office. I was still turning on computers and everything. He wanted to drop off more paperwork and quickly help sort through any initial questions. That really got the ball rolling early and I pretty much spent the entire day working with his stuff, except the time Katie stopped by to chat and a couple times where another client wanted to start setting up accounts.

I’m almost all caught up too, which is great for only having one day back and having been gone for so long. After having to catch up on 9 months worth of work last year, I think I’ve got a pretty good system going. By next week I should have everything in order again and back to just bugging him to get shit done. Here’s to hoping!

After work he sent my mom a text message asking if he could drop some stuff by [I still haven’t given him my number although I seriously contemplated it a couple times while I was gone]. We’d stayed at work late but he didn’t make it in so I called and told him to come by the house. He’s never been here, but he knows some of our neighbors so he found it well enough. It’s hard to miss, especially having the only white truck in the driveway. Well, except that one neighbor but his truck is huge! I’m pretty sure no one would assume I’d have one like that. hah.

Mom saw him through the window when he was pulling up. I walked outside to greet him and realized he’d changed his truck to a flat bed. I’d been meaning to talk to him about that. I was going to recommend CK for the job [even though I haven’t seen his work in person] but then he took off to Alaska and it was kinda pointless. I still sorta want to mention it though out of curiosity.

Speaking of that whole thing. I didn’t mean to, but the whole time he was here yesterday I kept thinking about how I’d rather it had been Ck. It just didn’t feel the same at all and I couldn’t stop my brain from comparing every little thing about the situation. I guess part of it is because not a lot of people stop by the house to see me in the first place. And they’re both guys, and both people I’ve been working with recently.

All he did was grab a box of fresh picked tomatoes from the back and drop them off. I was already closing the screen door when he set them on the table in the courtyard and acted like he was ready to leave. I instantly opened the door again, but asked if he wanted to come inside. He made some comment about how he was all dirty and instead of insisting that he come in [which I would have done with pretty much anyone else], I joked about how it was a bad idea afterall and never mind. heh. I didn’t really mean to. It just slipped out!

We stood around for a second while he showed me the box. Then he walked out and I followed to the driveway. He had a receipt to give me for some other stuff and was trying to fill it out against the wall. I said I’d take care of it, and he went over and looked at the truck for a minute. He said he’d be interested if I ever wanted to sell it, but I told him he wouldn’t have the right price. So he quotes me 6 grand. ha. That’s a decent price for a ‘97 but I’m still not selling. Sentimental value and all. =) He said those were some of his favorite years and I don’t know if he said it because it’s mine, or because he legitimately likes them. Hard to tell sometimes.

But he was only there for a minute or two and then I started walking back and he got in his truck. I didn’t even stop to make sure he’d get out of the driveway ok. It’s kind of my thing I do with people, mostly so they don’t crash into the mailbox or water hydrant. haha. But I didn’t even feel the need to watch out the window. Shoot I even hang around long enough to watch CK walk across the street to his truck.

I don’t know what the difference is really. They both started out as work people. I’ve known JR for a lot longer although not very well. I know/interact with both their “families”. I give both of them a hard time when it comes to business stuff. But I easily transitioned to things like hugging hello with CK and I have yet to cross that line with JR. Like there’s always something holding me back and it’s weird because when you come from a background like mine, you pretty much hug every single person ever. But I consciously stop myself from doing it every time. Even when he does things like bring us dinner or drop off a giant box of tomatoes. Not sure why, but that’s how it happens.

It just feels different. I guess I don’t want to cross those boundaries just in case he’s thinking differently about this than I am. CK’s a hard person to get to know, and this has been going on for years, but it never felt like this. I was never worried about being friends with him. Oh well. As much as I’d like to hang out and be friends with JR, I think I’ll keep avoiding. I’m really good at that!

And now I think I’ll take some time to go clear out my suitcase and get my room put back together. [Although, it feels really hot so I probably can’t wash yet..(supposedly there was lightning yesterday around the hills and everyone asked if I brought it with me. hah)] I tend to just drop everything into a pile when I get home from long trips like this. I’ve been working all morning on setting up new programs for client work that needs to be done tomorrow. Good thing I got a super helpful guy on the phone yesterday. I was dreading that sales call but it went really well and everything got done without much effort on my part. Except spending the entire morning today setting up and installing files.
There is [what I believe to be] a black widow hiding under the sink in the bathroom though and that hinders some of my work. I’m on a mission to kill that sucker! I just need to convince her to come out of that damn hiding place that I cannot reach!

Wish me luck!
[hopefully I don’t come back w/an entry about how my foot/hand/anything is about to fall off from rotting flesh spider bites ;) knock on wood]

rose.
1:19pm


Last updated July 11, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.