flash clap in 2015

Revised: 07/05/2015 11:31 p.m.

  • May 30, 2015, 3 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

7:41am

I am sitting here avoiding sleeping. Too much lightning/rain/extremely loud thunder to try to do any of that right now.

We had to get up early [4:30am early] to go pick up my brother’s friend at the airport. All was fine and dandy. We could see lightning off in the distance. It was originally supposed to start out here around midnight but never quite made it. Which was weird because every night it’s been starting right around when the sun goes down and we’re getting ready for bed soon. It was dry when I got up though we did hit a few sprinkles coming into the airport.

We hung out for a bit waiting for him to land and trying to find a damn space to park and/or pull up curbside. There’s crazy construction out there and space for like 6 cars in the pick-up zone. So we ended up down on the lower level near drop off and circling the parking lot for a while. Finally he called and we directed him to our location randomly parked in the middle of the parking garage.

As soon as we started to exit the garage we noticed the rain had started. INSANE amounts of rain were coming down. To the point where 95% of the drivers were pulling off onto the side of the road and throwing on the emergency flashers. We weren’t sure if they were just waiting it out or maybe they knew something we didn’t, but we kept going because it’s only a few miles from the apartment.

I am not good in thunderstorms. I especially hate when it’s pouring rain and I cannot see out the windshield properly, even when I’m not driving. Something about losing control or something. [my control…not the car’s] We tried holding a conversation but everyone just sorta got quiet to be able to concentrate on the road. There was so much water coming down out of nowhere. And a crazy flash-bang sound on the roof of the toll booth as we were waiting for change. That poor lady almost jumped out of the booth. I’m not sure she’s going to make it for very long in that place.

The roads were just soaked with water, which was insane to me since we’d just crossed over the same completely dry land. I can’t believe how much water can come down in such a short period of time. And it’s still going an hour and a half later. Most of the thunder/lightning combo has died down although about 30 minutes ago there was an extremely loud clap that set off several car alarms and shook the building for a good 30-40 seconds afterwards.

Fun times! I tell ya.

Out of all the places my brother has decided to live, I think this is the one I’m least impressed with thus far. Too many of the things I dislike: thunder/lightning, humidity, mosquitoes (that are only going to get worse with all this water). It’s all pretty superficial stuff but weather/environment are kind of a big deal when it comes to living in a place. I’d much rather be hanging out in Seattle right now if it were up to me. Although, funny enough, my brother’s friend that just arrived this morning is coming from Seattle. hah. Nice welcome huh? He had perfect timing too because 15 minutes later and I’m not sure that plane would have been able to land.

Well the rain has finally settled down. I’m so glad that passed through very quickly. I mean the whole thing within a few hours isn’t bad considering some of the storms we’ve had. Plus the boys should be waking up any minute [I guess I missed my chance at a nap. Darn you weather!!] and hopefully that equals breakfast soon. I’m hungry! And I could use a nice cup of coffee!

Oh, and I might be hitting the urgent care today because my ear’s still blocked. I’m on the brink of just deciding to live like this for the rest of my life though. It comes in handy while ignoring people/things/thunder, so who knows. ;-)

rose.
8:40am


Last updated July 05, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.