current events. in life stuff and misc.

  • June 20, 2015, 5:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So Friday, in the middle of helping a friend from NYC who lives in SF now play a show in Utica, the car my pop and I share died, throwing my mom into a conniption about how I don’t make any money off art so I shouldn’t art… which led to my walking all over Utica with everything valuable in my car to get my friend Karlyn to a podcast I’m involved in at the Saranac Brewery’s summer concert series, so she could promote her shows up here.

But I kept walking, made it, the podcast went great, her show went great, poetry went great and I caught a lift home off my friend Garrett who co-owns the cafe the show was at… stopping at my costumer’s shop to finish my stuff…

For the Princess Bride themed burlesque show in Troy I did the stand-up for Friday night. Had to catch a ride into Troy from my costumer to get in there as I was car-less. But I worked it out.

And the second act after the break, I took the stage in a full Fezzik costume, five week old sideburns and all, and delivered a comic speech about Andre The Giant, throwing circus peanuts screaming “ANYBODY WANT A PEANUT?” and at the end, “stripping” to reveal… an Andre The Giant costume underneath.

So yeah. Got a standing ovation from 250 people, almost even upstaged some gorgeous ladies doing amazing and funny routines in the almost-altogether.

And I still have no car, don’t know when it will be fixed or for how much.

And while I was well well paid for a ten-minute set, I still don’t have a steady gig and…

Yeah.

It has been a roller coaster.

But fuck, man, I have a real honest-to-Bob burlesque name “Big Tasty”.

And a fucking coat of arms for Big Tasty.

I do amazing things. I’m also… really bottoming out between them when I’m not.

Pictures in a few weeks when they’re cleared by the burly’s staff photogs.

Life is a fuckin’ thing, isn’t it. Mahalo.


Deleted user June 20, 2015

Yeah, but dude. You did Fezzik burlesque and you were a roaring success. THAT is fucking awesome. That is ten shades of fucking awesome. You can't do awesome stuff all the time - and you're still doing better than most people, in terms of doing awesome stuff.

absolut lilith June 20, 2015

Squidobarnez June 20, 2015

ditto to Casey's words. you rock it, Mike.

high-five-hugs

Narrator June 20, 2015

The good in this sounds awesome, and I'm so happy that art is being fabulous right now. (The podcast thing - is this new? Am I just super behind?)
I'm sorry that you're getting heat right now for the good things in your life. That sounds really rough. :/

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.