Dad Update in New Beginnings

  • June 20, 2015, 11:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I arrived at my Dad’s hospital Thursday afternoon, and I stayed with him that night. He had restful night. He was very physically weak, but his discomfort wasn’t so bad that it was apparent. Last night, my sister stayed with him, so I could stay at my aunt and uncle’s place. Last night was bad. Dad suffered from coughing fits.

They didn’t give him a stint. I don’t know why, but for whatever reason it wouldn’t work. Instead, they put a tube up his nose that would suck out whatever he ate. I know it sounds counter productive, but he can eat and get at least a little nourishment.

Unfortunately, according to one of the doctors we spoke with today, what little nourishment he can get is feeding the cancer more than him. They’re taking him off IV fluids, but he can still have water, ice chips, and other soft food items (pudding, popcicles, etc.). The doctor said he has anywhere left from a few hours to a week, but realistically, he probably only has a few days left. We’re looking at getting a hotel room nearby. My uncle and aunt’s house is about an hour a way, and my sister, my brother, and myself all want to be geographically close. Obviously, we can’t all stay with him overnight, and none of us want to be an hour away when his final moments arrive.


Telstar June 20, 2015

That's a tough thing to go through with.... Probably tougher for you than your dad.....

Star Maiden June 20, 2015

:(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.