Dad Update in New Beginnings

  • June 17, 2015, 4:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We received the results of my dad’s biopsy yesterday. He has stage four liver cancer caused by colon cancer. They did an endoscopy today to find he has tumors pressing in on his stomach, which is why he’s been so nauseous for the past couple of months. They also found fluid in his lungs due to the cancer, which wasn’t there two weeks ago.

Dad doesn’t want chemotherapy. The doctor said it wouldn’t prolong his life very much anyway. He’s having a stint put into today to relieve the tumors in his stomach so he can eat and drink. After that, he’s going to go into the local hospice. The doctor said he only has a couple of days to a couple of weeks left.

I’m going to pack up tonight, then drive to Eastman tomorrow morning. I don’t really know what to say or how to feel. I’m not happy. When I notified my work today, it took every ounce of resolve not to break down in front of them. In a sense, I’m fortunate. I told God last night that I didn’t want my Dad to suffer. He’s suffered so much over the past decade, he shouldn’t have to endure a fight like this one. We also have the benefit of knowing what’s coming, so at least we can say goodbye. Yep, I’m fortunate, but it sure doesn’t feel that way.


NeonLady June 17, 2015

I'm so sorry, that's terrible news. :(

Deleted user June 17, 2015

I'm sorry

Deleted user June 17, 2015

I'm sorry for your news.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.