1st day of Daycare. in 1st

  • June 9, 2015, 2:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

For US....
So mom called me and asked if I could take him in on his first day. Kinda sucked because after 3 days of 12 hours at work w/roughly 6 hours of sleep a night I then got 4 hours of sleep Sunday night to take him in this morning. Mom had to be in at 5:30 and daycare opens at 6:30. No biggy. I told her before we started even thinking about all this that I have her covered. However, she was all “let him sleep in” and I’m all “HEY, we are paying for this! USE it.” We were both concerned about how he was going to react to being left to the care of strangers with kids he doesn’t know. ....
I checked in on him while he was sleeping and he stirred so I tickled him a little and talked to him till he was ready to get out of bed. Reminded him to use the restroom as we passed, got him dressed, got his teeth brushed and all the while he was talking about playing with other kids on Monday. I let him jabber away because speech is still an issue. I get about every third to fifth word. I told him today was Monday and he looked surprised and told me he’s been waiting for it since Saturday. lol. He said he wanted cereal for breakfast but took 3 bites and said he was ready to go so I put it in a plastic baggy (he wanted it dry/no milk) and let him eat it in the back seat and we were off.
I turned in mom’s application and info she had to give them and the one lady was making a copy of the motion for the 90 day trial (we have not received the paperwork showing it was granted but that it was is a little obvious ya think:) ) when Joshua started wondering. “Hold on buddy” “I just need you to sign him in” I glance again and he’s gone. Peeking around the corner I see kids kinda standing around him (he’s the new kid after all) and one says “Who are you?” “I Joshua.” I stepped back waiting to be instructed on what I need to sign. The sign in sheet was in the room so I had to step back in. I was nervous he would already be getting upset. Not seeing me or grandma, and all these new kids. NOPE! He was like a fish in water, already playing with a table full of lincoln logs with 2 other kids. I signed in and didn’t even get a glance.
I let mom know it was soooo easy and we were worried over nothing. Mom said “we have to remember it’s OUR first daycare not his” This should be fun. Mom was able to pick him up and thinks she will be able to handle it in the morning. She will let me know as soon as she can if I need to pick him up. The way her schedule is she can’t tell me when/if I need to get him until the day before/of. That’s going to suck big time.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.