really bad poetry? in Thoughts.

  • May 29, 2015, 9:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

If you only think of bad things,
you’ll only reap the negative.
If you’re living in a dark place,
then you’ll never find the truth.
When the world is crashing down on you,
and your rocks all turn to dust,
You’ll find me sitting by a quiet lake,
surrounded by real love.

I used to be where you are,
dragging myself further from reality.
I convinced myself the truth was false,
and the darkness was all I had.
I let it swallow my heart; I lost hold of you.
I lost myself in a world of blackness.
I crawled around an empty room, searching
but never finding you.

I never found you because I couldn’t find myself.
I looked into mirrors and only found my pain.
I walked in circles, waiting for answers that I’d
never find.
I stumbled blindly through a path.
There was just a hint of light;
At the end of the path, I found the center of me.

A lake sat in the middle, surrounded all by trees,
I walked into the water and the darkness faded from me.
The water glistened from the light of the sun,
and the warmth reached into my soul.
I closed by eyes, fell into the water,
and lost myself in peace.

Darkness still tries to grab my hand,
pull me back down the path
to mirrors that only show my pain.
I see myself in the water’s reflection;
I know I am not the same.

I hear you calling out in the darkness;
You’re surrounded by your pain.
I sing a song to guide you to me,
but all you do is run away.
I know the path is hard to find
and I cannot light your way.
I hope you find the way to me,
follow this path to our love.

If you only live in darkness, then you’ll never find the truth.
When the world is crashing down on you
and all your rocks have turned to dust,
You’ll find me sitting by a quiet lake,
filled with love for you.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.