IMPORTANT Future Privacy Change in Site Updates

  • Nov. 20, 2013, 11:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As many of you are already aware, a while back I made changes so that Google and other search engines would NOT index any user-created pages on the site, including public entries. On further reflection, hiding public entries from search engines does not seem necessary nor a good idea.

A while back, somebody left me a comment, alarmed to discover that public entries were being indexed by Google and upset that I had not clarified what "public" meant. I don't remember who, and I apologize if you're reading this, but "public" already has a very clear definition. And in keeping with the spirit of that definition, I am going to allow search engines to index public entries.

This is just a heads up; I'm not doing it immediately. I will make a few changes first. Most importantly, "Members Only" will become the default when creating a book, so nobody inadvertently puts public data out there. That's why the two settings exist, to separate what people registered on the site can see, versus what the world can see.

So please, open your prose box and review the privacy level of all of your books. If the thought of any entries being indexed by a search engine makes you uncomfortable, please change them to Members Only or higher privacy. You shouldn't be putting any personally identifiable information on the site, but if you're afraid of being identified - Members Only!

By no means do I wish to discourage public entries; in fact I embrace and encourage them. Daily journaling/diary writing is probably not a good fit, but I think creative writing, stories, and essays are a GREAT fit. Let the world read what you have to share! (just don't go bashing your boss publicly) Not only is it good for you if you want the potential attention - it's good for Prosebox because it's another avenue for new people to discover the site.

Thanks and have a lovely evening!


Deleted user November 21, 2013

I am Elehcar and I approve of this message

Deleted user November 21, 2013

I think this is the way "Public" should work.

The only thing I don't like about it is that if I leave a note on a public entry, my profile pic and a link to my diary can now be found through google. I'll just have to remember to make notes on Public entries private...

Camdengirl November 21, 2013

That sounds like a good compromise and I always felt that er... "Other" diary sites somewhat hid their light under a bushel by being unsearchable - whereas this way you have the option. One query though: Will this encourage a mass influx of spammers littering keywords all over entries?

simple mind Camdengirl ⋅ November 21, 2013

It might, though I do plan to empower moderators at some point to deal with spam and such. Combine that with a report abuse feature and I think it will discourage spamming.

Hotaru November 21, 2013

Thanks for the heads up. I really appreciate that you are so involved and proactive here. It is a big part of what makes this site so awesome.

Leanne 🌈 November 21, 2013

As always I thank u for all that u do......rock on sir.......rock on.

Deleted user November 21, 2013

I love that there are several settings here.. and I always assume public = public, and subsequently I do not use it.

Overachiever November 21, 2013

Will there be a setting to keep an entire diary as non-indexed? That is, the homepage and the fact that it exists to Google?

Deleted user November 21, 2013

I makes perfect sense and I don't see how there could be any confusion by what "public" means, but nevertheless, even the simplest things will always need to be spelled out.

A lot of people don't understand SEO and as a photographer running my own website, I'm still learning about it as well. It's crucial for any website to flourish. With multiple levels of security here, there really shouldn't be a problem. Public, Members Only, Friends Only, Private. Make your comments Private on Public entries if that worries you. Pretty simple.

I think this dialogue is fantastic. I love the way you explain everything you're doing with the site and the fact that you actually take suggestions into consideration and implement them.

Bravo, good sir.

Life Is For Living November 21, 2013

This completely makes sense. Public is well.. public. It is no different from any other social media. I am so glad I made the jump when there was.. what? I think 200 people at the time! It has been well worth it & I have not looked back. I love that you actually explain everything that is going on -- keeping us in the loop. A+ communication. Thanks for all of your hard work, Sir!

hoops November 21, 2013

WAIT A DAMN MINUTE!!! Do you mean tell me that Private Entries are going to be Private, that Members Only entries are going to be for Members of the site Only and that PUBLIC entries are going to be able to be seen by the Public????

WHAT MADNESS IS THIS? Are you freaking crazy?!?! WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU???

THIS IS BULLSHIT!!!

How dare you label things by what they are and use plain, simple words to explain each designation so that brain damaged monkey on crack could understand it! What kind of shop are you running here? It's madness!!!

"Nothing astonishes men so much as common sense and plain dealing."

--Ralph Waldo Emerson

simple mind hoops ⋅ November 21, 2013

You're right, I should start using euphemisms for everything on the site. :-D

hoops simple mind ⋅ November 21, 2013

YES!!! Now you're cookin' with gas! Call the ones that are able to be found on Google: Hey fucktard, you're on the freaking internet, there's an outside chance someone might see this so don't post the story about you sleeping with your brother-in-law!

One Angry Dwarf November 21, 2013

Hey, quick question! Is there a way to privatize INDIVIDUAL comments on my public entries, if they mention something I don't want to be public? I don't mind having half my junk hanging out there (yeah i make journaling dirty what of it) but I know people aren't always gonna check if it's public before being all "hey have you gotten that sore checked out yet" etc., and I don't wanna have to delete them. :/

I appreciate the private-comments-only setting, but I like having open discussions in public entries, too. I just wanna be able to hide 'em when they get personal. If possible! If not, I'll adjust my posting strategies LIKE A GROWNUP.

Doing an awesome job dude, thanks so much! <333

simple mind One Angry Dwarf ⋅ November 21, 2013

Yep, click one or more cheekbones by comments in the entry view. You'll get a button at the bottom of the page to either privatize or delete what you selected. Make that check boxes, not cheekbones. Haha damn autocorrect.

One Angry Dwarf simple mind ⋅ November 21, 2013

Ohhhhhh man, so I checked some boxes and saw the "delete" button and just refused to click it on the off-chance it would insta-delete them. Thanks, yo!

(Cheekbones confused the shit out of me. I was like, "um... is this some sort of... internet term no one told me about? Is it a picture of a cheekbone? What does a cheekbone look like?")

Deleted user November 21, 2013

Thanks. I knew what was what, but it never hurts to spell it out clearly.

james ensor November 21, 2013

Good man.

Jack November 23, 2013

It doesn't matter. The NSA reads everything. Paranoid much?

Deleted user November 23, 2013

Makes complete sense. You are being very transparent with us all, and informing us all along the way. This is a rare quality to come by these days, and this is appreciated!

Cats Rule from OD November 23, 2013

It is good to remember, regardless of your settings, what goes on the internet will ALWAYS be on the internet. That is something I learned quickly in the early days (95) and always remember when I put something out there. If you can't stand by what you write, maybe you shouldn't put it in print.

.Java.Junkie. November 25, 2013

Aye Aye Captain! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.