Time Travel in Always Recovering, Never Recovered.

  • May 15, 2015, 12:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The last words of a child, immortalised; the age-faded graphite burns jaded red eyes: I’m watching my own suicide.

In every painful paragraph I’m reading my own epitaph, a twisted-spiral eulogy to youthful opportunity, the words now blurred on ageing pages, seeing my life destroyed in stages: a horrified, hollow-eyed, helpless spectator, my heart blown apart by this teenage narrator; unwitting dictator of all that I am, holding my world in the palm of her hand.

It’s a gun-barrel time-tunnel into the past and I’m slamming my palms against twelve years of glass; the pain stains the pages of every vignette, my throat burns in forest-fire flames of regret as I swallow myself playing Russian Roulette, with a slew of dark forces and slick silhouettes: and strung up by her neck, a sick marionette.

And I’m drowning in an acid sea- of misery and memory- empathy and jealousy are ripping strips of skin from me; caustic, corroding, eroding my mind, a wrecking-ball echo through mirrors of time. Flashbang, flashback- skull-shattering rattling thundercrack- the dark desecration and stark devastation a petroleum sunrise, a bankrupt dawn, I’m watching self-destruction born- in caesarean scars, torn up long-ago arms- the creation of obliteration, clawed into existence: an evisceration.

Every bloodied fingerprint that blurs those words of faded ink is a meeting of selves in sickening sync, the present one seeing the past on the brink, across acres of ages yet still interlinked; the blindside of hindsight, running barefoot and tripping, the sands of time rippling, the heartbreak is crippling, the poison-air thickening, choked panic-breath quickening; my whole life is a lie, I just watched myself die, gouging blood from my palms inside foetal-curl fists: I don’t know how to breathe through this.

And still, I long to feel whole- to stuff my worthless forcemeat soul- back inside that scarred skeletal frame, I want to wear those bones again- I hate her, she killed me, I need her, she’s still me; I want to erase her, I wish I could save her: I still fucking crave her- a spiral confusion, a ravenous, cavernous canyon of pain; myself, laid to waste, a whole future erased, those mis-steps still retraced, endlessly, relentlessly: those mistakes were the end of me.

That addictive behaviour, my ruinous saviour; rewrite it, remix it, I still cannot fix it: I’m the body of proof, a decree absolute....

the dying words of my youth

forever since: my whole truth.


invisible ink May 15, 2015

it seems as though you can and are fixing it. You cannot wash the scars away but they are nothing more than memories found in a picture album. I can choose to see the errors of my youth on my arms or I can step back and look at the whole picture. Look at me in my wildest even most destructive form of living and breathing. Still living still breathing..... and no longer choking on the unbreathable air of my youth.
forever since..... I forge new truth....

I love your writing...

Waiting For Sunrise invisible ink ⋅ May 16, 2015

Thank you...

forever since... I forge new truth...

.... I love this... admittedly, progress feels incredibly hard at the moment... but I would love to think that there could be a day when I could define myself by a different truth...

LadyLoki May 15, 2015

Your writing is powerful, I feel sorry for the pain you've known but I see glimpses of the insight and the strength needed to tap into your potential. I hope you feel confident tapping into it.

Waiting For Sunrise LadyLoki ⋅ May 16, 2015

Thank you so much... I find it so hard to see that potential that often I have no idea what I'm chasing... peace, I suppose... so elusive; for everyone..

Deleted user May 15, 2015

So beautiful. Just. Wow. (jaw drops)

Waiting For Sunrise Deleted user ⋅ May 16, 2015

Aww... thank you! :)

ICanDoASumbersault May 15, 2015

I wish I could write this beautifully, it's quite amazing.

Waiting For Sunrise ICanDoASumbersault ⋅ May 16, 2015

You are far too kind! Thank you! :)

LoveSuicide May 17, 2015

It's all beautiful and so painful and just..

This, in an abstract or rather detached sense was my favorite part if one can favor pain:

And still, I long to feel whole- to stuff my worthless forcemeat soul- back inside that scarred skeletal frame, I want to wear those bones again- I hate her, she killed me, I need her, she’s still me; I want to erase her, I wish I could save her: I still fucking crave her- a spiral confusion, a ravenous, cavernous canyon of pain; myself, laid to waste, a whole future erased, those mis-steps still retraced, endlessly, relentlessly: those mistakes were the end of me.

If I had to wager, I'd guess this revolved around looking through old diaries of a younger you?

Park Row Fallout June 01, 2015

Obviously, it has been my absence here but... I've missed reading your writing. :) It is nice to be back.

Waiting For Sunrise Park Row Fallout ⋅ June 03, 2015

Aw, thank you! Have missed you and am glad to see you back! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.