cycle 2, week 4, deadlift day in Exerbabble III

  • April 27, 2015, 4:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


    Sunday, 4-26-15
    Cycle II, Week 4: Deadlift Day

    Yesterday's nutrition: Good
    Last night's sleep: 8 hours

    Deadlifts:
    5 @ 135, 5 @ 185 lbs, 4 @ 225 lbs, 3 @ 265 lbs
    3, 3, 3 @ 285 lbs (+10 lbs)
    2 @ 295 lbs
    10, 10, 12 @ 155 lbs

    Dumbbell Bulgarian Split Squats: 5 @ BW
    15, 13, 11 @ 15 lbs (+5 lbs)

    Crux of workout: 58 minutes
    Treadmill: 10 minutes, .56 miles

Hit my work sets, but I don’t feel confident about adding weight in week five. So, I’ll backcycle to 275 lbs. I’ll spank that weight, which will help my confidence. I’m distancing myself from thinking about how long it will take to “get to a certain weight”, and focusing on making sure I’m confident and motivated every session.

This marks five weeks of consistency. I’ll take at least two days off, go in for a light workout, then take two more days off before “continuing” with week five. All my lifts are going up, and I’d like to keep it that way.

As an aside, I bought a scale. Erik mentioned Dietbet.com and I thought I’d check it out. I don’t own a scale, so I figured I might as well buy one. I had no idea modern scales had bodyfat and other measurements. Pretty cool.

While that was my motivation to buy a scale, I’ve decided against participating in this little event. It’s clear these kinds of things encourage anxiety, and crash-dieting. Some numbers: I seem to be around 178 lbs, 21% bodyfat, and 41% muscle. If this is accurate, I only need to drop to around 155 lbs (to be around 10% BF), which was always where I felt my best. I’d much rather drop 20 lbs over the course of five months, than AS QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE.

Metabolic workouts suck, and I’m done doing them. What’s best as preserving muscle is what builds them in the first place. I already know what needs to be done nutrition-wise. I just need to do it. Drastically cutting calories causes the body to revolt; it’s much easier to maintain a lose of 1 lb a week.

On the upside, I should save money on not buying cheesy poofs. : D


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.