cycle 2, week 3, deadlift day in Exerbabble III

  • April 19, 2015, 10:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


    Sunday, 4-19-15
    Cycle II, Week 3: Deadlift Day

    Yesterday's nutrition: Good
    Last night's sleep: 8.5 hours

    Deadlifts:
    5 @ 135, 5 @ 185 lbs, 4 @ 225 lbs, 3 @ 255 lbs
    3, 3, 5 @ 275 lbs (+10 lbs)
    3 @ 295 lbs
    1 @ 305 lbs
    10, 10, 10 @ 155 lbs (+10 lbs)

    Dumbbell Bulgarian Split Squats: 5 @ BW
    15, 14, 13 @ 10 lbs

    Crux of workout: 62 minutes
    Treadmill: 10 minutes, .56 miles

Same as last Sunday in terms of waking up feeling like a truck hit me, then kicking ass in the gym. Added a fourth warm-up set. It might seem excessive to some, but I literally walk into the gym and start deadlifting. Moreover, I’m wary of the 50 lb jump from 225 lbs to 275 lbs. In so many words, if there are any contraindications to lifting heavy shit, I’d rather find out at 255 than 275. I remember when I used to “conserve energy” during my warm-ups. I always felt weak starting my work sets. Now I attack all my warm-ups and pull strong. As it works out, I end up feeling stronger with each warm-up set.

Obviously felt good enough during my work sets to toss in some joker sets. I probably could have gotten a double at 305 lbs, but I’d rather get a solid single than a rickety double. It’s not to “max out” every workout. It’s that picking up heavy shit is fun. : ) I stop once I know the next pull won’t be as solid as the last. Pace myself.

To my surprise, I had less of a pump in my back after deadlifts. Or maybe doing a couple hanging knee raises before split squats actually helped. Speaking of, I wasn’t dripping sweat during split squats. It’s like I’m adapting or something.

Had no idea my workout was over an hour until I checked the time, this is why I write things down. I feel kind of primal doing a quick run after heavy leg work. I imagine our ancestors had to do feats of strength then RUN LIKE MAD. It’s not specific cardio training, I just like flushing out my legs and doing a formal cooldown. And an iota of masochism to do anything after high-rep bulgarian split squats.

Four weeks consistency. About damn time. I’m not really worrying about long-term progress. So long as I keep showing up, I’ll get there.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.