Cycle 2, Week 3, Squat Day. in Exerbabble III

  • April 16, 2015, 7:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


    Thursday, 4-16-15
    Cycle II, Week 3: Squat Day

    Yesterday's nutrition: good.
    Last night's sleep: 8 hours

    Squats:
    5 @ 45, 95, 145 lbs
    5, 5, 8 @ 155 lbs (-20 lbs)
    10, 10, 10 @ 105 lbs

    Bulgarian Split Squat:
    5 @ BW
    15, 12, 10 @ 10 lbs

    Crux of workout: 35 minutes
    Bonus: 10 minutes light treadmill

Anecdotally, I’m finding it easier to reach down to the bin of cat food and feed my cats in the morning. This, despite next-to-no stretching. I’d argue this ability has less to do with flexibility, and more to do with mobility. It’s so cliché to say, but regular squats, deadlifts, and unilateral leg work has made Daily Life easier.

Came into this workout motivated, as I had lowered the weight. Before every set, I kept saying, “This is easy, this is easy.” First two sets were a breeze, of course. I didn’t feel comfortable going beyond 8 in the last set without compromising form, not to mention the pump in my lower back. “Watch your descent, keep your weight on your heels,” that was my form cue in my head.

The pump in my lower back continued through (weighted) split squats. I’m hoping it gets easier as I proceed, because MAN, it is hard to deal with. I’d be okay doing some damned ab exercises between split squats if it helps with my lower back. Not pain, never pain. Just a pump. Kind of like the owwie I get in my back leg during split squats. The point is to train my forward leg, not my rear leg’s hip flexors. I’ll figure it out.

How the hell do people do only one “leg day” a week. Given my accessory work, I need nearly four days to hit everything appropriately.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.