Today in A new era

  • April 3, 2015, 7:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today my grandad had three seizures.
Today my grandad had two separate bleeds on the brain.
Today, my grandad had acquired an aspiration pneumonia from vomiting whilst unconscious.
Today my grandma asked me if she was going to lose her husband of 60 years.
Today I saw my Grandad’s penis.
Today i put his ng tube back in when he had yanked it half out and there was no one else around to do it.
Today I came home with my Grandad’s bile down my leg.
Today, a doctor told me I’d make a lovely nurse, then laughed when I said I was one.
Today, I was the grown up, calling my parents on their holiday abroad and telling them to come home.
Today, I knew everything that was coming before it happened.
Today I had a conversation about whether my grandad should be resuscitated in the event of cardiac arrest.
Today I relayed that conversation to my grandma because she’s hard of hearing and the doctor was whispery.
Today, and right now, we’re keeping our fingers crossed that antibiotics work.
Today I saw true heartbreak.

Today, my heart broke.

Xx


Fireweed April 03, 2015

I don't know you, but my heart ached for you as I read your words. Much peace to you and your family.

ratherbesleeping April 03, 2015

I have everything crossed for you, your grandad and your family. Sending many positive thoughts his way xxx

I need tea. April 04, 2015

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.