Mermaid vs. Sailor in Magical Realism

  • April 1, 2015, 5:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After the China trip, I threw myself back into the mini-busy season at work. Overall not bad and it went by fast - lots of work trips - I did get stuck upstate one trip due to rumors of a blizzard but made it back home for everything I really needed to. In between work trips I was also sick a lot - I think in general the ice-swimming helps my immune system, but trains and planes and automobiles and hotel rooms take their toll on me after awhile. Our 15th anniversary was on January 20th, A had planned something but it involved food and I was sick and we wouldn’t have enjoyed so we ended up cancelling. Lame.

A few days later my old colleague from London came into town, I hadn’t seen her since we met up in Hong Kong last summer, so I went out for “one drink” and ended up staying out until like 6am. We went to the bar in the Bryant Park Hotel, then to this crazy hookah bar…I don’t know. Please note that this is not my hat:

alt text

After very little sleep, I headed off to a work trip, then straight to London for the UK Winter Swimming Championships which was a short in/out trip but so much fun. Saw lots of my swimming buddies briefly, and got to hang out with Echoes to the evolution. We went for a charity dip, wore funny hats, and I even got a medal. You can see Miss [Echoes] jumping at the far left here:

alt text

Me and [Echoes] after the dip:
alt text

Anne and me at the awards:
alt text

Burgers and beers with [Echoes] and her lovely friend after the swims:
alt text

Australia Day shenanigans in Notting HIll:
alt text

I took my suitcase to the bar, and from the party went straight to Heathrow. When I arrived at the airport I realized I was tipsy and wearing an Aussie Flag Heart on my face. Rubbed it off frantically, bought makeup at the Chanel duty free, and got on the plane. Uneventful flight, slept at home one night, then off on another work trip the next day.

Work work work the next couple of weeks, there was a storm predicted for Valentine’s weekend so was very nervous about making it home. But I got home on Thursday night as predicted, just in time for our adult sleepover at the American Museum of Natural History. I was zonked but it was a great time. Started off with a champagne reception by my best bud, Blue Whale:

alt text

After that we had a great dinner with loads of wine, and then had full reign of the museum at night. We took full advantage:

alt text

alt text

Ended the night with Dark Universe narrated by Neil DeGrasse Tyson, a cookie and hot cocoa in the Lunar Lounge chill space, and then to bed on our cots under the Whale. Woke up in the morning to see Newt Gingrich in his pajamas (so weird) and skipped breakfast to go home and catch some more zzz’s in our own bed.

Napped away the afternoon, then started getting ready for a Valentine’s Day masquerade party with my friends. Met the boys for a pre-drink, then proceeded to party the night away. I wasn’t in the best mood as Valentine’s Day was my dad’s birthday, and I was a little melancholy, but we ended up having a really fun time.

alt text

alt text

Wheee!
alt text

The next week was the first US Winter Swimming Championship. We had the international winter swimming board members in town a few days early, and I was tasked for entertaining them for a day. We started out with thermal baths and massages at Aire Ancient Baths, then went shopping around Union Square. We had lunch at The Old Homestead Steakhouse and then did a boat tour around Manhattan on the Circle Line. From there we walked to the Empire State Building, went up to the top, then headed out to Queen of the Night for dinner and theatrics. It was a packed day but everyone really seemed to enjoy.

The next day we drove a mini-van full of friends up to Vermont, to Lake Memphremagog, a lake on the border of the US and Canada. We had a welcome reception and briefing at a wine bar in town, and I saw so many friends. Went to bed relatively early, and got up early for the swims. The events were supposed to be spread out over 2 days, but there were some problems with the pool freezing over too quickly, so we squeezed everything into Saturday.

[alt text

alt text

alt text

They didn’t have age groups for the first year, but I won one event outright, then silver and bronzes in the other three. We had a dinner and awards ceremony - the medals were made of wood and each time we won part of the prize was homemade jerky:

alt text

After the party we had an afterparty in our (very small) hotel room, sponsored by Coney Island Brewing Co’s “The Plunge” beer, and Russian vodka gifted from our Russian friends. Shortly after midnight we got a noise complaint from the hotel, because we are 17 years old:

alt text

The next day we had a very nice goodbye brunch, walked around the frozen lake a bit (it was a beautiful sunny day, no snowstorm like the day before!) and drove home. Overall a very nice event.

alt text

The next day I took everyone to Coney Island for one last dip, and we had brunch at Tom’s.

alt text

One more entry, then I am caught up I think!


Jigger April 01, 2015

So much ice! And I'm off to investigate your blue whale's museum.

BlueEyedDevil April 01, 2015

LOVE LOVE LOVE that red dress!

Red April 01, 2015

1) 15 years! Congratulations
2) I enjoy your llama (?) hat quite a bit
3) Your red Valentine's Day dress is killer (though I feel for you on it being your pop's birthday.)

I CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ENTRY!!

~Mrs. O~ April 01, 2015

I always love seeing your pics on FB (but reading some detail makes them that much better). LOVE those lamby hats, omg I need one for Eva haha.

midnight radio April 01, 2015

Hiiii! You STILL haven't slowed down any, and I have no idea how you do it!

I looooove the blonde hair!

sarahbaby. April 01, 2015

Amazing -- more podium finishes! Dude!

I'm glad you managed to have a nice time on V day even though it was your dad's birthday. God, I still can't believe your dad is dead. I'm so so sorry.

Homebird April 01, 2015

You are a mermaid AND a sailor AND even more importantly, my hero!! I am just in awe of you and SO proud to call you my friend. Happy anniversary to you and the lovely A - you looked HOT in that dress. I can only imagine how bittersweet it was being your dad's birthday though, so sending you lots of hugs. D and I are planning a US holiday at the moment - more than likely Florida ,but I think a few nights in NYC with cocktails and great friends are called for - I will be in touch xx

Leslie Bruce April 01, 2015

Why didn't I know you could spend the night in the museum??!! I would totally have been there!

Bluesea April 01, 2015

Gah, I have so many comments but I doubt I can remember them all now.

  1. I love the droopy, drunk eyes you are all sporting in the first picture.
  2. Those hats in London are awesome.
  3. Orion's scout troop got to spend the night in a museum this year and I was kind of sad we missed it. That sounds so cool.
  4. Nice red dress on Valentine's day. It's rare to see you in color :-).
LeftisRight April 01, 2015

Congrats on all of your hard work! You look great!

Deleted user April 02, 2015

Love that photo of you on the ice blocks :)

all your ice swimming business gives me shivers and i'm now going to hide deeper under my blankets and wait for breakfast to make itself. :)

Mercurial Muse April 02, 2015

I am jealous of your adult sleep over. And yes, Newt in his pj's would be weird.

And congrats on winning the event!

Complicated Disaster April 02, 2015

Still gutted I couldn't make Tooting Bec! Next year!! xx

dancerd April 03, 2015

Congratulations on your anniversary!! All your pictures are so great! I'll be in NYC next weekend to stay with my cousin and little niece and nephew and I am craving nice weather and some city adventures. Love your Valentine's Day outfit and "mask"!! Lastly, when I first read the title of your entry it made me think on one of your old OD entries...when you were underwater and dressed like a mermaid...in Florida, I think??

Deleted user April 03, 2015

you do so much! how.

Deleted user April 06, 2015

You have such a grand life - you have it all I think! That is so rockin! I love the pix of you on the ice and in the red dress! Pretty!

Calicakes April 08, 2015

How do you keep track of all this? Paper diary? You're amazing.

aglow April 20, 2015

THOSE HATS ARE THE ABSOLUTE GREATEST.

edna million May 29, 2015

" Woke up in the morning to see Newt Gingrich in his pajamas" is the best thing I have read in, well, maybe ever!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.