Consistency. in Exerbabble III

  • March 31, 2015, 12:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Other than forgetting to log stuff, this is the first week I’ve gotten consistency all year. I’ve managed to do the lifting thing this past Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday. Also managed some cardio Thursday, yesterday, and today. Getting past the first week of ughs is hard. I don’t know whether it’s from squats whenever, but my hamstrings are still sore.

Of course, three hours of hiking yesterday probably contributed to that. Me being me, I figured some foam rolling and light cardio today would help with recovery. …As well, I hate rest days. I mean. Rest days tend to come of their own accord. I find “forcing” a rest day kind of kills my motivation for the following day. It’s weird like that.

My upper body lifts are coming back. Lower body, well. I hate to say it, but I need more volume. I’m going to take a chance and try to restart Cycle 2 of my previous shtuff. I’m kind of all or none, and there’s generally very little in between. I miss, really miss when I could go to the gym and do a bunch of random things.

I’m going to try an iota of autoregulation, and not necessarily force myself to increase the weight every time. I seem to burn out when I’m grinding a difficult weight for too long. Oh sure, getting a couple extra reps is motivating. But constantly making it harder wears on me. I’m calling this “cycle 2”, but like I said, I think I’ll try individually backcycling each lift based on progress and difficulty. We’ll see what happens.

I liked the thought of taking screenshots, but ultimately I found myself lazy with taking the pictures and then uploading them. It takes “less effort” in my head to find the previous workout and change the numbers. Oh well, worth a shot.

I promised myself I’d finish “working back up” by the end of March, so. I’m holding myself to that. Exercise is my anti-drug, after all.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.