I've been to hell and back, and back to hell, and back again. in Adventure Log [01]

  • March 3, 2015, 7:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sorry, bad Dota Lion reference right there. But ah, yes. I had an adventure filled with misfortune earlier today, and I want to write about it anyway. It may have been terrible all throughout, but damn, I want to keep the memories.

So. Luther invited me a few days ago to accompany him somewhere ridiculously far (for me anyway) because he needs to get his license renewed. Let’s call this place Illidian City. To get there, you need to travel by boat for at least an hour.

It was exciting for me though I’m not that interested with Illidian City because I get to go somewhere far and unknown to us. I never told mother about it since I know she would not allow it out of love, obviously. /sigh

We agreed to meet up by 8AM at my house yesterday. Even texted me in the middle of the night and told me to ‘stop staying up so late’. It was funny because that was exactly what I was doing.

I woke up pretty early and prepared, only to get another text that he’s coming at around 9. Then 10. Okay. I’m not the one who needs something to get done, so I didn’t mind. I was just coming along.

We went to the port to book tickets at around 10:30. There was a trip for 10:45, but there was just one seat left. Also, it was expensive. We ran out of time looking around and got stuck with the next 12:40 PM schedule, same price. There was a cheap alternative. The ride which hauls vehicles along. It leaves at 12 NN. We took that.

We got on by 11AM. We were too excited to remember buying lunch. I suppose we just though that we’d land by 1PM, and then we’d eat there. The ride was two hours long because this particular ship docks somewhere entirely else– at the tip of the island, away from Illidian City. It didn’t help that the weather was starting to be awful and we were cold during the ride, especially Luther. He wore shorts, silly man.

He got anxious about the pending closure time of the licensure office so we agreed to get to Illidian City ASAP upon disembarkation. We didn’t know our way around so we followed our fellow passengers along. We ended up squished together at the back seat of the local cab and had no idea where it’s going. There was only one road to follow, so it was fine.

The tough ride was 20 minutes long, and brought us to another transfer area. We had to ride a van, this time for 40 minutes. Luther was seated at the side where sunlight was beating down, so I suppose it was quite uncomfortable and added up to his stress.

We finally reached Illidian City at around 3:20 PM, and rode a taxi towards the licensure office. We kept our silence since I knew he was agitated with the time constraints. When we finally got there, I saw the glow on his face.

He had his picture taken as a requirement. When he finally went inside, he was confronted by the guard. They had very strict dress codes and could not let him in because he was wearing shorts. He was bargaining too, saying that we came from far away and couldn’t afford to just come back some other time. I think I laughed in my head at the time, until the guard casually suggested that I lend Luther my pants.

Yes, you read that correctly.

So. Yes. We exchanged clothing for that. He finally got in. He was so happy. Then, upon presenting his requirements, he is told that his affidavit thing is expired and no longer valid. Wow. After all the trouble and effort. But he’s been told that they would hold a temporary satellite office next week at our home area for five days, so basically we went there for nothing.

On our way out, we discovered that our old Psychology teacher was working there as a clerk, so we greeted her out of courtesy.

Now everything’s done (or not), we rode another cab and go to the best local mall they had to grab lunch there and spend the rest of the day. It was around 5PM when we finally were able to eat. We went around and was disappointed with the mall. We got out and went to Coffee Break, a widely-known cafe over there. On our way, a waitress from one of the restaurants in the district came to us and said “Eat all you can, sir…?” in a very distinct odd tone and accent.

We declined and headed for Coffee Break where we ordered frappes. Luther kept repeating the same line over and over because he thought it was insanely funny. By 6PM we decided to go home and got a cab, going back the same way we came.

He won’t shut up about the particular line throughout the trip and I thought it was ridiculously lame, it’s actually funny.

The last ride toward the port was insanely scary, since we ended up at the back seat again, and the road didn’t have adequate road lamps. I forgot to describe that the place was like an abandoned outskirts or something.

We arrived at the port by 7:20 PM, and got on the 8 PM ride and got back to our place at 9:30 PM; a surprising improvement. Mother has sent me a text looking for me, and I handled it quite well. We hung out at McDonald’s for some time and I got home by 10:45. I almost got lost during my own ride home because I was too tired and didn’t pay attention, so I ended up walking home.

I’m disappointed I couldn’t describe the whole thing as vividly as I wanted to. I’m too tired from the trip and should go to sleep soon. But hopefully, this entry is enough for me to remember that terrible trip by.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.