From Riga Into 2015... in Magical Realism

  • Feb. 27, 2015, 10:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Our last morning in Tallinn, we packed up and grabbed breakfast at a cute spot the girls had grabbed brunch at just before meeting up with me the first day. Of course the staff remembered my lovely friends and we had a delicious and comfortable meal before heading out. Picked up the rental car where the adorable attendant promptly fell in love with Miss K (Echoes to the evolution) and gave us a sweet deal. Then we started off on a long drive. Pit stops at Lahemaa National Park, where snow was falling and it was like walking into a painting:

Me:
alt text

K (Echoes to the evolution):
alt text

After the park we drove some more, ate cookies in the car, and then drove to the very edge of the country, to take a walk by the water’s edge. It was freezing but breathtaking. Got into Riga much later than we’d thought, checked into hostel, and walked into town for a quick noodle dinner at Wok to Walk. Slept hard, then got up for breakfast/coffee at the hostel before heading out for another epic day.

K had organized for us a BOBSLEDDING lesson!

Charlie’s Angels, with helmets:
alt text

Last thing you see before plummeting down the ice at a rate of 1k in 7 minutes!
alt text

Post run photos with our bobsled driver, and member of Latvian skeleton team:
alt text

It was a rush! After that we got lunch at the most delicious and adorable cafe, and headed out to Gutmanis Cave in Sigulda National Park. The cave was epic…so many thousands of years of history, even the graffiti was hundreds of years old. So peaceful and beautiful.

alt text

Here you can get a sense of the scale:
alt text

View from cave looking out:
alt text

There was a small stream inside the cave. I had read that legend said that these were healing waters. Between my cancer and my dad’s death, I was in need of some healing, so while the girls were exploring, I took a private moment to plunge my bare hands into the icy water, held them there as long as I could stand, then splashed the water over my face and neck. Just being in the cave gave me a feeling of calm I hadn’t felt in a while.

After the caves we headed a bit down the road to Sigulda Castle. This was a beautiful old castle with many games set up, viewing platforms, etc. We had it completely to ourselves with no entry fee since it was Christmas Eve. Here’s a snap of the girls swordfighting - they were fierce!

alt text

After our road trip we came back to the hostel, took a walk around town, and a nice solid dinner. Had a few drinks at a sketchy but dirt cheap bar (I think a round for 3 was something like 5 euro?) and called it a fairly early night just after midnight.

The next morning was Christmas! We had plans to meet my winterswimming friend Alex for a dip in the Baltic Sea. We met them at an awesome looking waterpark and they took us for a drive to the beach.

The beach was COLD and WINDY, even for seasoned coldwater swimmers. We took a jog on the beach to get warm and then K and I went into this tiny little changing shed to get ready for the plunge. It was wicked cold!

alt text

We all walked in, but only stayed in a few minutes, barely long enough to submerge. The waves were high and strong too!

alt text

After that it was a race to get dry and dressed, always the toughest part. K was a trooper though, and L helped us both out in the tiny cube, which thankfully blocked some of the wind. After we dressed, Alex set up a quick post-dip group shot:

alt text

After the swim Natasha and Alex gave us a tour around the Jurmala City waterfront, and we stopped in for soup and hot drinks at a lovely cafe. It was so nice. We walked around in the crisp evening air for a while, until it was time to head home. Another group shot on the boardwalk:

alt text

After that we went back to the hostel, got showered/dressed, and met up for a boozy/leisurely Christmas dinner. Our Russian buddy Viktor from Talinn happened to be in Riga, so we had him meet us at “Rock Cafe”.

alt text

The downstairs was a bar, but the upstairs was a full dance party/club. Lots of dancing and drinking ensued, and before we knew it, it was 6am again. Woo. Viktor walked us home, we said our goodbyes, and plummeted into dreamless sleep.

The next day was sadly time to say goodbye. The girls dropped me off at the airport, and continued on to Lithuania. I flew to Oslo airport, had a quick connection, and then home to JFK. A met me at the airport, and we spent the rest of the weekend in bed.

The Monday after Christmas I had an appointment with my oncologist. I was really afraid, as he was supposed to give me the verdict on whether I would need further treatment via phone when I was in Paris, but when I called in they said they needed to see me in person instead. I thought this meant it would be even worse news than my needing radiation, and as I walked into the treatment center, I held onto A’s hand, tears in my eyes, and wondered if this was the moment that my life would again change forever. But surprisingly, when I sat down the doctor told me that my results appeared to be clear and that he was NOT recommending radiation therapy after all, just monitoring. It was a best case scenario, I was so happy. A and I ran out of the building, my heart and mind a thousand times lighter. We grabbed a celebratory breakfast together and I called my mom to let her know the good news. I was, and still am, so thankful.

We had a low-key New Years Eve, celebrating the 10th anniversary of our 1st run together by running the first race we started with, the NY Road Runners’ Midnight Run. We bundled up, took the subway to Central Park, and kicked off our first four miles of 2015 at midnight with beautiful fireworks. What a special experience, and good way to start the new year. I finally felt free and healthy again.


Last updated February 27, 2015


~Mrs. O~ February 27, 2015

Oh my gosh, how fun!! I love seeing your photos, and wow it really does look like you're walking in a painting. Such a beautiful scene (but burrrr haha).

So very happy to hear the good health news!

Jigger February 27, 2015

SPECTACULAR news! Oh, I am so relieved for you. And your travels! That first picture! Amazing.

nightborn February 27, 2015

My eyes flooded with tears at that last part... So glad to hear the good news. Xoxo

I have a feeling lots of people fall madly in love with Miss K. :) you all look great - I love your furry hat. You really pull it off.

Your tour of Tallinn, Riga, Jurmala etc - you basically recreated a good portion of my parents' honeymoon back in 1979! Except their first stop was in St Petersburg (then Leningrad) rather than Moscow!

lessoff February 27, 2015

yay for a clean bill of health. :)

dickson. February 27, 2015

YAY GOOD NEWS :D :D :D

Amazing stories and pictures, as per usual.

Red February 27, 2015

Great news! Would have been nice if they could have told you on the phone though...

Satine Red ⋅ February 27, 2015

RIGHT?

Velveteen February 27, 2015

I'm so relieved for the best case!

nowthat'salady February 27, 2015

Aww! Wonderful news! You look great too!

Bluesea February 27, 2015

YAY! I loved all of this so much but especially the end. 2015 is going to be a much better year for you. I know it!

BlueEyedDevil February 27, 2015

YAYAYAYAYAYAY on the good news! SO happy to hear that. :)

Kate February 27, 2015

Yea! And, you are stunning. I hope you are keeping the bangs.

pandora February 27, 2015

Oh, what amazing news!! I'm so glad to read that.

And I'm imagining running, in Central Park, with fireworks going off overhead... it's like a scene from a movie!!

AlmostGenuine February 27, 2015

WOW. Just, wow!

I'm so glad you got good news, and that you are starting of the year on such a strong note!

sarahbaby. February 27, 2015

I'm tearing up a bit over here. God I'm so thrilled for this news. Thank fuck!!

Deleted user February 27, 2015

great news! Im so happy to hear that!

Your trip sounded amazing but all I can focus on is the news from your oncologist. Hooray!

Deleted user February 27, 2015

GREAT NEWS!!!

Miso Honey February 27, 2015

Yay, the furry hat has returned!

Riga sounds great! I've only met 2 Latvian people, but they were both awesome.

That is fantastic news about the results!

Deleted user February 27, 2015

Great news, congratulations! Thanks for taking the time to write about all these adventures. Bobsledding, so jealous!!! :)

LeftisRight February 28, 2015

So exciting!! I'm so happy for you!

Caty Shark February 28, 2015

Lovely entry, particularly the conclusion. I love your description of the peace in the cave.

Deleted user February 28, 2015

dude! if anything ever deserved a celebratory breakfast, it's this! rulllllly good news, yo. :D

kmh. March 01, 2015

Wowwww, that first photo - it doesn't even look real. Haha bobsledding, that's so cool! The caves sound so tranquil.

That is SUCH AMAZING NEWS!!! I am so thrilled to hear this, and so relieved. Excellent :-D Now, here's to those healing waters from the cave continuing to do their magic for your future check ups.

Complicated Disaster March 02, 2015

Wow. The bobsleigh looks like great fun!! And YAY! I'm so happy to hear you don't need any more treatment!!!! xx

Deleted user March 02, 2015

That is wonderful news! Nice and cool travel pix as usual! Love your life! :D

kiss kitty bang! March 03, 2015

That was the best last line, of all possible last lines that could be written. I am so happy for you, and so relieved. Hug.

You seem to become more beautiful with time. Do you know, how lovely you are?

QueSeraSera March 05, 2015

fantastic health news! you must be elated.
of course i always love your pictures and travel stories. i absolutely love your hat and boots. i mean LOVE. you look amazing.
glad you had a good time. i am going to look up and learn more about estonia.

aglow March 09, 2015

SO glad you had that amazing good news to float into the new year on, love!
Also? YOUR HAT.
Could your hat be any more fabulous
I don't think so

dancerd March 24, 2015

What fun photos, everything you do is so much fun!! I am truly happy to hear no more cancer. Congratulations to you and your family!!

Deleted user March 26, 2015

Wonderful in every aspect !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.