Tonight Tonight Tonight by Genesis in The Song Remembers When

  • Feb. 22, 2015, 12:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

On a whim, I bought Genesis’ greatest hits (it was the only thing on iTunes that had Mike + the Mechanics’ “Silent Running” that was halfway decent quality), and I suddenly remembered how much I LOOOOVED Phil Collins in the 80s. I mean, Phil Collins was cool, but Phil Collins’ Genesis was EVERYTHING.

These are all songs that I haven’t heard in decades, mostly owing to the fact that the only way I’ll hear 80s music is if I play it for myself since I stopped listening to radio in 2005. Not that they would ever play awesome 80s music, but just a side note.

I found “Tonight Tonight Tonight” and passed it by. I was far more infatuated with “That’s All” for its outright rage at living with someone who sucks (I wonder why I gravitated to that?), but slowly, “Tonight Tonight Tonight” dug its way into my subconscious.

Everybody knows “In The Air Tonight” and thinks it’s got some of the greatest atmosphere of any song in the 80s, but I think I like the redemptive atmospherics of this song. It’s serious, it meanders, but when it hits, it totally smacks you down. It doesn’t have anything as incredible as that drum solo, but the chorus itself, and the screaming and the desperation.... So good.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.