That's a good reason right? in 1st

  • Feb. 16, 2015, 6:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel a little sick. I’m feeling sick because I’ve had to call out… not the other way around. You see I let my car heat up an hour before I had to leave.-15 mins because I decided I should leave early. It’s sleeting. I managed to get myself a nice area to see out of and headed on down the road. A mile later I’m feeling slight panic because I can’t see. The sleet is freezing to the windshield. One mile no lie. We just fixed the heat… kinda… but the defrost is still not awesome. I mean there was a real nice area to see but when I went to bat away a large amount of precipitation with the wipers BAM. That was that. So I pulled into a gas station that is no longer occupied just up the road and scrapped the windshield again. Another car pulled in behind me moments later. Lady got out of her car to do the same thing I was “Bad morning isn’t it” “yeah.” Then a Lewisburg Sheriffs car pulls up and asks me if everything is ok. Told him “Yeah, it’s just gonna be a long drive to work this morning. My defroster is not the best in the world and the ice built up pretty quickly. I’ll have to stop a good bit before I get to work today.” He made a face. A aww crap that sucks face. Then checked on the other lady. She was loud enough that I gathered she had turned on her washer fluid and it froze. LOL that’s smarts lol. K… so cop pulls around us both and the lady pulls off. I’m still sitting there thinking about how I am gonna deal with this. I can’t just pull off and head on down the road because my brake lights still don’t work right. I decide I’m calling out. There aren’t a whole lot of places to pull over to scrap on the route I take. Not safely, and every couple miles??? it would be 9 before I got there. The weather app on my phone says it’s going to be sleeting till about 1 then raining the rest of the day. I will be able to take the SUV the next 2 days so that will take care of the vision problem if it keeps up with the sleet/snow. I look for cars as I pull out to the right and see one but can’t tell how far because of the ice on my window. Get out scrap it and go home. By the time I got back here my vision was once again clouded. I left a message for Kevin “It’s Jennifer. I’m not risking my life today so I guess you guys will have to do without me. I got a mile down the road before the sleet made it impossible to see. I’ll take one of those Unpaid days off or whatever. Thanks see you Tuesday” I half expect him to call before shift start, I’m waiting.

I texted Rocky to be careful on his way home and that I stayed home in case he was worried. “Ran the car an hour, deiced the window.... by White’s I couldn’t see again for the sleet making ice on the window, I called out. It will be unpaid but it’s too dangerous in my car this morning. Be safe baby, Come home safely. I love you”

I haven’t called out since I started there. Seriously, I attempted to one time and was made to feel so guilty I went in anyways. I will not feel guilty. This is my life we are talking about here. It’s not like I’m calling out for nothing. I have no intention of going anywhere today, except back out to my car to get my lunchbox and put the hummus back in the fridge.
I can’t go back to sleep. I have to switch to days now :(. This should be entertaining.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.