Bully Bosses in Days of My Destiny

  • Feb. 16, 2015, 7:07 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My poor hubby… his bosses are bullies. Not just to him but to everyone. Basically there’s a lot of politics, and the bosses use their power to the max whenever and however they want. Basically, if you’ve done something they don’t like, you may not necessarily get told about it. Instead they might give you crappy conditions for a week, or make you do a job that nobody would want to do. Thankfully L has never really had to deal with this before because he’s a really good worker with a really good work ethic. But for whatever reason, it’s his turn now. It’s week 3 since he went back to work. The first 2 weeks he was on Night Shift. Normally each shift has 2 or sometimes 3 electricians, well he was the only electrician on the shift for the whole two weeks. Apparently everyone at work was asking him what he had done wrong to get that. He is clueless. I’m sure he was looking forward to going into Afternoon shift this week.... except that again, he’s the only electrician on the shift.

My poor man. I know he’d be pretty frustrated and angry about this, especially knowing he hasn’t done anything wrong. I just pray that God gives him the patience, perseverance and wisdom to simply not worry too much about it but rather still be thankful that he has a job and to be confident that he really hasn’t done anything wrong!!!

It’s pretty unfair.

M came home sick today. She got off the bus and told me she had a headache, tummy ache and back ache!!! She hadn’t eaten anything since recess (which is at around 11am) and she’d barely had any water. It was a pretty hot day today and she had a fever. I put her straight to bed and read her a book quietly. I’m so glad that Little L is not-too-little anymore and that she can actually be helpful in these situations. She gets that M isn’t well and so she was being quiet too. Yay!!! This time a year ago there’s no way this would’ve been successful. I still even had to tell her to stop bouncing on M’s bed, lol. But at least she got it. M almost fell asleep in bed and then she ate some watermelon, nectarine, walnuts, carrot sticks and a bikkie. So at least she still has an appetite. The poor thing though, she just wanted daddy to come home. I could tell she was trying not to cry about it. I think the fact that this morning was rushed really didn’t help. Little L took forever to get dressed and so L stayed with her while I walked with M down the driveway to the bus stop. By the time Little L was ready and she and L came out to catch up with us, the bus had gone. We didn’t think ahead. L should’ve really gone with M, as he won’t see her now until 1am while she’s sleeping. And she’ll only see him all week when she says hi and bye to him at 7:25am when he’s half asleep himself. Afternoon shift really is the worst. Really they all are the worst. They all have good and bad elements, but this one has to be pretty bad. Anyway… that’s how come I rang L to see if he could come home at all but because she’s not that bad and because he’s the only electrician on his shift (yet again), he didn’t come home. He told me to call him if she gets any worse but I don’t think that will happen. I gave her some Panadol and am getting her to drink plenty of water so I think she’ll be fine.

Little L and I had a great day together today. We love our home days. Last week was a busy week for me so we only had Friday at home together (normally Mondays and Thursdays are our “home days”). By the time Friday rolled around I was exhausted and impatient, which was not how I wanted things to be. I’m so glad that today was much better. We spent an hour and a half in the sandpit!!! It had been MONTHS since anyone played in it and so a whole heap of weeds and prickles and grass had grown over it!! I spent a fair bit of time pulling it all out and finding toys that had been buried over time lol. Then we jumped on the ride-on and mowed the lawn. Normally Little L loves doing this, she’ll easily do it for 20 minutes. She steers it really well, too. Today she lasted 5 minutes, and as the lawn really needed to be done, I got her to hop off and go inside. She watched TV for almost an hour while I finished the lawn. Afterwards L came home. He’d gone to meet up with John at church to put up a sign… they are starting a “Shift Workers’ Church” every Thursday night so they put a big sign up at the front of church to advertise. It’s starting soon and John asked L to put up signs around his work. L is petrified about doing this but will do it anyway. What a courageous guy! I love seeing some commitment and faith develop in him. I think him and I are both growing in this whole thing TOGETHER and it’s just amazing. It’s a beautiful journey to go on together. Anyway so he came home and we had lunch. By this time L was tired and for some reason I was too so we lay down and I gave Little L my phone to play with for a while. I didn’t realise I’d crash… so Little L actually ended up playing with games on my phone for about an hour!!! Deary me!!! An hour of the television AND phone games today… uncool. I really did need that sleep though.

I had a freaky dream that had me waking up feeling yuck inside and worried. I dreamed that I was home alone with the girls and two older men came to our house under the pretence of being maintenance guys but I was onto them and was calling the police, frantically and quietly whispering to them to come and help me and my girls, but the police didn’t believe me and were telling me to relax.... and in the end, these guys really did seem like they were just maintenance guys and I was starting to wonder if I was going crazy and being paranoid.. and at the same time, it was like I already knew I was actually crazy.... just a bit of a scary dream!! And at one point in the dream I’d seen L drive past our house and I was trying to run desperately to his car and calling out to him so he could just come and be with us but he didn’t see or hear me. This dream would SEEM to tell me that I am subconsciously worried about something lately, or my safety here, even though in reality I am NOT worried! I know that we are being looked after here. But see the other night I also had a dream to do with this place. I dreamed that there was a big fire off in the distance and it was coming our way. I could see all these animals escaping the fire and coming towards us. Except that the animals were African animals lol, which makes no sense because obviously.... African animals don’t generally live in the Australian bush, haha. Anyway… it’s just weird that I’ve now had two dreams with a worrying theme, specifically related to being HERE. (It’s usually fire season at this time of year except that this year the danger really isn’t there. The weather conditions are much cooler and better than they normally are.)

I slept so deeply that L actually woke me up to say goodbye - he was leaving for work - so I got up and played Memory with Little L, her favourite game at the moment. We also played Uno and soon enough it was time to get M from the bus stop, which we did by riding the ride-on mower down the driveway lol. (Note: we really need a bench or something to sit on down the front of the house now, because it really sux standing up for ages, especially on a hot day while we wait for the bus to bring us our awesome girl.)


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.