phew in Procrastination Journal

  • Feb. 11, 2015, 6:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I missed a patient panel today, and I was worried I was going to have another demerit! Three strikes and you’re out! That would be my second.

However, I talked to the grades guy, and he said it’s not automatically a competency failure (Professionalism grade failure), you have to miss more to fail that category. So, unless I screw up more with task completion (busywork) then I am good.

The last one happened because I misunderstood the woman’s email. Like we had to find patients for our health coaching project. I pretty much was absolutely sure my shadowing place couldn’t help me (they did, in the end) so I told her kinda well in advance, hoping to get one of the volunteer patients they said they had.

Anyway, she told me to keep trying, and tell her if I found someone. Fat chance trying to find someone during assessment week, but okay.

We were supposed to report to her whether we found someone by one Friday at 5. I thought I had already done this by emailing her before saying i didn’t find anyone. But apparently I was supposed to email her again by that deadline confirming that I didn’t find anyone. Okay…

This was a while ago, and I had to go through all this bullshit, I got a scary email, She emailed me (quite passively aggressively) saying something like, “Since you were late in telling me..” I had to do this whole process and go talk to some faculty member that I don’t know about “what happened,” making sure I wasn’t falling off the boat, and sign this paper basically saying I screwed up and I did the review.

So I guess it’s too late to appeal,– I didn’t then because I really didn’t know what to say. Complaining about her wouldn’t have been professional.

All this because I misunderstood what the hell I had to do–and what I had to do was send her an e-mail telling her the same damn thing as I had earlier, before some deadline. Really a lot of people had trouble with this woman. I think it was because she did not have resources (volunteer patients) that she told us she had when the assignment started.

I bet if I had known to send her that email before 5, I would have sent it and she would still be like, “You still have an hour to find a patient, try to find one again and email me again if you can’t” and I would still get in trouble because I didn’t send yet another email at 4:59pm or some bullshit

Augh this busy work is crap.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.