defensive rebounding. in security via anonymity

  • Feb. 3, 2015, 2:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

(Author’s note: Please excuse the poetry on a site called Prosebox; but this is some of the best inspiration I’ve had in a long time – I haven’t written a poem in years – and I have nowhere else I can semi-anonymously share it.)

Though names and facts desert my brain,
I never will forget
That fateful day twelve years ago
When as anew we met:

Asleep at helm I’d been
and with my ship was going down,
But as I sank I reached for you,
who wouldn’t let me drown.
You pulled me back to shore,
you kept me warm and safe and dry,
You saved me from the loneliness
I’d barely got to try.

Our love was pure like snowflakes
That no one would ever plow;
We dared not eat the fruits forbidden
(not that we knew how).
We lived by all the good advice
that ever we’d been taught,
True to the straight and narrow,
never any more we sought.

With time, all thoughts of leaving you
I banished from my head;
Steadfast in faith and morals
Did we innocently wed.
And now I see our future
As she smiles with Irish eyes,
The comfort, home, and family
That’s now to be our prize.

And if I’d been less desperate
Ere these twelve years and this ring,
Then I might not now be stuck here –

But you don’t suspect a thing.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.